arnaud159SW
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 4:42 am
Location: France

GPSGate with Samsung SGH I780

Thu Feb 21, 2008 4:49 am

Hi,

I'm a new registered user of GPSGate.

I have some trouble using GPSGate 2.6.0.301 with my PDAPhone SAMSUNG SGH-I780 running under windows mobile 6.0 pro.

1 - On startup or after a soft reset, GpsGate Icon turns yellow and then Green and is fully fonctional.

2 - If I close gpsgate after a nav or to save battery, and then re-open Gpsgate it stays RED with an input issue.

No modification have been made to any setting and an error "No data is coming in Closed "is displayed on input tab.

3 - If I soft reset again with no modification to any settng, Gpsgate turns back to green without any explaination.

Could you please help ?

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 14913
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: GPSGate with Samsung SGH I780

Thu Feb 21, 2008 12:54 pm

Maybe some other application opens the port to the GPS? If you open the Settings dialog and go to the Input tab, what status message do you see?

A better solution than closing GpsGate when you close the application using it is to use the automatic pause mode in GpsGate. Using it you can make GpsGate close the Input automatically once there is no applications connected to the Outputs. You find more information here:
http://franson.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=6015

Regards,
Johan

Franson Support

arnaud159SW
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 4:42 am
Location: France

RE: GPSGate with Samsung SGH I780

Thu Feb 21, 2008 1:51 pm

Good morning,

On the input tab of setting dialog

The Gps Icon is and remain red, status message is "No data is coming in".
Under the icon ... Running Ok !

I can't perform step 5 of your suggested correction

5. Check "Close input when no outputs are opened" (Windows) and "Conserver power" (Pocket PC).

Neither the first nor the second option are displayed, even with "show more options" clicked on advanced tab.

If I check "close Input when idle" ... after closing input and re-opening
status message is "No data is coming in" and "closed !" or "data timeout. Will try to re-open chain" or "runing ok" but nothing occurs.

Open input again and again does not make anything .. and as soon as GPSgate has closed input Once, it can never be re-open until a soft reset !

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 14913
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: GPSGate with Samsung SGH I780

Thu Feb 21, 2008 2:01 pm

Ok, sounds like the GPS port only can be opened once. If possible report this error to Samsung as well and they might fix it in coming firmware upgrades.

I'll see if we can find some work around for this SGH-I78 bug in coming versions of GpsGate.

Regards,
Johan

Franson Support

arnaud159SW
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 4:42 am
Location: France

RE: GPSGate with Samsung SGH I780

Thu Feb 21, 2008 2:55 pm

Thank for your help.

If Gpsgate were running ok in SGH-I780 ... you should sell a loot of licence.

At a the moment in two topics in 2 site ... at least 6 users are looking for an effective GPSgate upgrade.

Of course I will report to samsung as well. But don'y know if I will be listenned.

arnaud159SW
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 4:42 am
Location: France

RE: GPSGate with Samsung SGH I780

Mon Feb 25, 2008 5:45 pm

Good morning,

Further to another forum suggest, I uninstalled GPSgate2.6 and installed GPSGAte 1.1 which is much more stable with windows Mobile 6.0.

Input port can be openned/closed and re openned succesfully without soft reset.

1 - First can and how I change my 2.6 licence to a 1.1 licence ?

2 - Is it possible to add Filtered NMEA Output in a new build version of GPSGate 1.1 ?

Thank for your help.

arnaud159SW
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 4:42 am
Location: France

RE: GPSGate with Samsung SGH I780

Sat Mar 01, 2008 7:26 pm

Ok, I tried again to use GPS gate 1.03, 1.1 and 2.6 ... but unfortunately ...none works properly.

To get data from gps I still need to soft-reset my device.

I report the bug both to samsung and tomtom.

Samsung give a non sense answer and I queried them back with no answer at the moment.

Tomtom told that the device was too recent to be supported but if needed developpement will b made.

Have you been able to look for something ?

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 14913
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: GPSGate with Samsung SGH I780

Sat Mar 01, 2008 7:44 pm

We have not looked into this yet.

Regards,
Johan

Franson Support

Evert
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 5:28 pm
Location: Norway
Contact: Website

RE: GPSGate with Samsung SGH I780

Sun Mar 02, 2008 9:19 pm

Originally posted by johan

Ok, sounds like the GPS port only can be opened once. If possible report this error to Samsung as well and they might fix it in coming firmware upgrades.

So the problem with the i780 is caused by the MSM6260 driver that Samsung supplies with their Windows Mobile 6 OS?

Or am I getting it wrong here?




Greetings,
Evert

arnaud159SW
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 4:42 am
Location: France

RE: GPSGate with Samsung SGH I780

Mon Mar 03, 2008 2:05 am

I think you are right do you know how to update this driver ?

Evert
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 5:28 pm
Location: Norway
Contact: Website

RE: GPSGate with Samsung SGH I780

Mon Mar 03, 2008 1:24 pm

Originally posted by arnaud159SW

I think you are right do you know how to update this driver ?


No, sorry...
As a Linux user I'd say: Grab a driver from a system (non-i780) that has identical hardware, but that doesn't suffer from this problem.
But I guess it's not quite that easy in reality...?




Greetings,
Evert

jlinxx
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 12:29 pm

RE: GPSGate with Samsung SGH I780

Tue Mar 04, 2008 12:35 pm

Hi, I also have just bought the Samsung SGH-i780 in sweden.

I'm having the exact same problems as described above. I can use the gpsgate + tomtom prefectly for the first time after a soft reset, then gpsgate goes dead-red =(

I can use the gps in for example googlemaps after gpsgate died.

Is this a problem with my phone or is it a possible fix for the next version of gpsgate? I have my hopes for a faster fix for gpsgate than from samsung =/

A soons as this works you have another licens sold.

Sincerely // J

Dirk Hasloewer
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 3:23 pm
Location: Germany

RE: GPSGate with Samsung SGH I780

Wed Mar 05, 2008 5:11 pm

there are more problems with gpsgate and the samsung. incoming calls after using gpsgate cause the phone module to slow down. Swtiching off and on the phone module does not work, you´ll get a "sim card status unknown" error
see here http://franson.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=7015

Kind regards,
Dirk

mblom
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 7:20 pm

RE: GPSGate with Samsung SGH I780

Fri Mar 07, 2008 7:20 pm

I have installed trial version of GPSGate on my Samsung i780 and have the same issues!

Hopefully, this will be fixed soon!

Regards,

Mark

curlykraut
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2008 1:07 pm

RE: GPSGate with Samsung SGH I780

Sat Mar 08, 2008 1:12 pm

I too have the GPS and Phone Problem with my i780 and GPSGate. Thanks for finding posting these issues. I was really getting mad about them since I did not know where the phone problem was coming from. Hopefully this will be fixed quickly since I already bought GPSGate specifically for this phone...

Return to “GpsGate Splitter - How to setup and use”