beegletracker
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 9:09 am

Speed not logged when above ~200 knots

Mon Mar 05, 2018 4:18 pm

I have set up GPSGate for a custom tracker that I will soon make available to the world and it's working great except that as soon as the speed is beyond about 200 knots, it reports 0.0 kn in the "Track points" window, but the marker correctly shows the speed (eg 260 kn). When the speed is below 200 knots, both Marker and Track points window show correct speed.

Here's a screenshot that shows the error when speed is 260 kn. Notice that during the climb when speed is below around 200kt, it shows fine but as a as soon as speed increased, it shows 0.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1zPIpzc-YU1LMPQeHQZvXRCHkGibo36iO/view?usp=sharing

Here is another screenshot at 174 kt when the aircraft is slowing down during approach, both marker and track point window show correct speed: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Ft-cy8bRq4M5BVJVnU3cmVQrzMf9EHup/view?usp=sharing

For a previous fix that didn't work correctly, (speed was 232 kn), this was the string sent to the server. Speed made bold.
$FRCMD,IMEIxx,_SendMessage,,3357.073,S,01843.493,E,1615.44,232.00,346.0,050318,134603.000,1,Analog3=81,Analog4=-2100*50

For the fix that was 174 kn, and which worked correctly, here's the string that was transmitted:
$FRCMD,IMEIxx,_SendMessage,,3351.922,S,01840.083,E,944.88,174.00,227.0,050318,134805.000,1,Analog3=81,Analog4=-100*5A

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Greg

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 14467
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

Re: Speed not logged when above ~200 knots

Tue Mar 06, 2018 7:56 am

Please set Track Filter to "Airplane".

More info on Track Filters here:

Track Filters Change Track Filters. Use different track filters for city vehicles, and long distance vehicles.
http://forum.gpsgate.com/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=16395
Regards,
Johan

GpsGate Support

beegletracker
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 9:09 am

Re: Speed not logged when above ~200 knots

Tue Mar 06, 2018 9:16 am

Hey Johan,

I set it to airplane when I initially set up the device:
gpsgate_speed_issue3.jpg
gpsgate_speed_issue3.jpg (17.83 KiB) Viewed 1038 times
Any other suggestion please?

Greg

beegletracker
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2018 9:09 am

Re: Speed not logged when above ~200 knots

Thu Mar 08, 2018 9:13 pm

Hi Johan,

With a bit of experimenting using SimOne, when the speed is 360kph (100.00m/s) it works. At 361kmh (100.28m/s) it stops working. Please tell me how to fix this?

Regards
Greg
Attachments
gpsgate_speed_issue_speed_not_okay.jpg
gpsgate_speed_issue_speed_not_okay.jpg (247.94 KiB) Viewed 1004 times
gpsgate_speed_issue_speed_okay.jpg
gpsgate_speed_issue_speed_okay.jpg (252.83 KiB) Viewed 1004 times

Return to “GpsGate for Developers”