torototeo
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 1:07 pm
Location: Italy

can't connect to generic device

Fri May 23, 2008 1:13 pm

I've installed gpsgateserver and it works perfectly, I've added new user and vehicle, I've checked that the informations starts from my device (vehicle tracker) and arrive to my port (setted on 9999), but gpsgate vehicle tracker can't recognize them! Can you help me?

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 15161
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: can't connect to generic device

Fri May 23, 2008 1:21 pm

Which kind of device are you using?
What kind of device adapter has you set to listen to port 9999?

Regards,
Johan

Franson Support

torototeo
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 1:07 pm
Location: Italy

RE: can't connect to generic device

Fri May 23, 2008 1:29 pm


User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 15161
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: can't connect to generic device

Fri May 23, 2008 1:35 pm

Have you configured "SmartPipe" to listen to port 9999 ?

More information:
http://franson.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=5896

Regards,
Johan

Franson Support

torototeo
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 1:07 pm
Location: Italy

RE: can't connect to generic device

Fri May 23, 2008 2:06 pm

Thank you very much Johan, I'll try soon and let you know

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 15161
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: can't connect to generic device

Fri May 23, 2008 2:22 pm

Please also note that "Franson NMEA Service" which handles the connections to the devices generates a log file. This log file can be very useful when debugging a system.

It is located in the folder "Franson NMEA Service" where you installed GpsGate Server.

One new log file is created each day.

In this file you see things like which device connects and when. You also see which listeners starts and at which ports they listen.

Regards,
Johan

Franson Support

torototeo
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 1:07 pm
Location: Italy

RE: can't connect to generic device

Fri May 23, 2008 2:41 pm

2008-05-23 08:06:17.0312 | Info | 4 | UdpNmeaListener..ctor | ipAddress = 0.0.0.0, Port = 9999, class: GpsGate.Online.UdpNmeaListener |
2008-05-23 08:06:17.7031 | Info | 4 | UdpNmeaListener..ctor | ipAddress = 0.0.0.0, Port = 30176, class: GpsGate.NmeaPipe.SmartPipeUdpListener |
2008-05-23 08:06:17.7187 | Info | 4 | TcpNmeaListener..ctor | ipAddress = 0.0.0.0, Port = 30176, class: GpsGate.NmeaPipe.SmartPipeTcpListener |
2008-05-23 08:06:17.7187 | Info | 4 | UdpNmeaListener..ctor | ipAddress = 0.0.0.0, Port = 6080, class: GpsGate.StarsNav.StarsNavUdpListener |
2008-05-23 08:06:17.7187 | Info | 4 | TcpNmeaListener..ctor | ipAddress = 0.0.0.0, Port = 6082, class: GpsGate.StarsNav.StarsNavTcpListener |
2008-05-23 08:06:17.7187 | Info | 4 | TcpNmeaListener..ctor | ipAddress = 0.0.0.0, Port = 5000, class: GpsGate.GlobalSat.GlobalSatTcpListener |
SHOULD I CHANGE ALSO THE OTHER PORTS JOHAN?
tHANK YOU

torototeo
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 1:07 pm
Location: Italy

RE: can't connect to generic device

Fri May 23, 2008 2:45 pm

2008-05-23 10:56:03.3125 | Info | 4 | UdpNmeaListener.m_Listen | UDP Listener started address = 0.0.0.0, port = 9999, type = GpsGate.Online.UdpNmeaListener |
SHOULD I CHANGE ALSO LISTENER STARTED ADDRESS FROM 0.0.0.0 TO MY IP ADDRESS?

torototeo
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 1:07 pm
Location: Italy

RE: can't connect to generic device

Fri May 23, 2008 2:48 pm

NOW MY CONFIGURATION IS THIS>
<add key="StarsNavUdpPort" value="6080" />
<add key="StarsNavTcpPort" value="6082" />
<add key="GlobalSatTcpPort" value="5000" />
<add key="SmartPipeUdpPort" value="9999" />
<add key="SmartPipeTcpPort" value="9999" />
<add key="DatabaseType" value="MySQL" />
<add key="NmeaPort" value="9999" />
<add key="UdpNmeaPort" value="9999" />

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 15161
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: can't connect to generic device

Fri May 23, 2008 2:48 pm

0.0.0.0 is ok, that means it bonds to all server addresses. Do not change that.

You have made one error. You should set the "SmartPipe" to listen to port 9999. Please read this carefully:
http://franson.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=5896

And remove the first change you made.

Regards,
Johan

Franson Support

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 15161
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: can't connect to generic device

Fri May 23, 2008 2:51 pm

This is correct:
<add key="SmartPipeUdpPort" value="9999" />
<add key="SmartPipeTcpPort" value="9999" />

This is wrong. Change this back to 30175
<add key="NmeaPort" value="9999" />
<add key="UdpNmeaPort" value="9999" />

You can have one UDP and one TCP listener on the same port. But you cannot have two TCP listeners or two UDP listeners on the same port.

Regards,
Johan

Franson Support

torototeo
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 1:07 pm
Location: Italy

RE: can't connect to generic device

Fri May 23, 2008 3:15 pm

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<configuration>
<appSettings>
<clear />
<add key="StarsNavUdpPort" value="6080" />
<add key="StarsNavTcpPort" value="6082" />
<add key="GlobalSatTcpPort" value="5000" />
<add key="SmartPipeUdpPort" value="9999" />
<add key="SmartPipeTcpPort" value="9999" />
<add key="DatabaseType" value="MySQL" />
<add key="NmeaPort" value="9999" />
<add key="UdpNmeaPort" value="9999" />
</appSettings>
<connectionStrings>
<clear />
<add name="ConnStr" connectionString="Dsn=tracker" />
</connectionStrings>
</configuration>

THIS IS MY GPSGATE.SERVICE.EXE.CONFIG CAN YOU HELP ME

torototeo
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 1:07 pm
Location: Italy

RE: can't connect to generic device

Fri May 23, 2008 3:17 pm

THANK YOU NOW I-VE UNDERSTOOD

torototeo
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 1:07 pm
Location: Italy

RE: can't connect to generic device

Fri May 23, 2008 7:20 pm

Great Johan it works,
the only problem that I see the coordinate are a little bit wrong, I mean, I've connected two devices and google map show both in wrong position of about 200 meters on the right and 20 meters down, is there a possibility of configure this mistake, or it depend of today satellites that they are not well allineated?
Thank
I want to buy licence of thi programme and I would like to understand the limit of user and devices.

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 15161
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: can't connect to generic device

Fri May 23, 2008 7:35 pm

There is no known error that GpsGate Server should display the wrong position on the map. The GPS device you use is a low cost device, it might be the reason you don't get the quality you expect.

However I cannot tell for sure. You can send a complete screen dump of the browser windo to bigfile @ franson . com and I can see if I can see something, make sure you include the information window under the map, where the coordinates are written.

Regards,
Johan

Franson Support

Return to “GpsGate Server - How to setup and use”