altf4
Posts: 1035
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 8:05 pm
Location: Thailand
Contact: Website

register own applications

Tue Mar 04, 2008 5:19 am

its it (somehow simple) possible to Register an own Application ?

to explain: i need to make another outfit of vehicletracker to fit in a Desktop application (with very limited functionality).

so my question is .. is it possible to simply copy ~/Vehicletracker/* to ~/newAPP/
and register somehow /newAPP/ in siteadmin?

what xml file does manage the application startet in appgateway.aspx and siteadmin ?

User avatar
Bjorn_Andersson
GpsGate
Posts: 466
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 5:20 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: register own applications

Tue Mar 04, 2008 3:20 pm

Hi!
We do not support custom applications out of the box.
We will support this kind of custom application development upon our server platform in the future but for now you have to do some hacking to get it running.

You are quite right about the procedure.
Just copy /IIS/VehicleTracker to ex. /IIS/VehicleTracker2 and make your customization.

To get the login mechanisms in AppGateway.aspx to redirect to your custom VehicleTracker2 you have to make some modifications in the AppGateway.aspx.cs source.
I will send you a mail with the source code.

Replace the AppGateway.aspx with the content off the provided zip.
Open the AppGateway.aspx.cs (C# source code) and modify this section:

Code: Select all

if (appType == "GpsGate.BuddyTracker.BuddyTrackerApplication")
{
   appPath = "/BuddyTracker";
}
else if (appType == "GpsGate.VehicleTracker.VehicleTrackerApplication")
{
   appPath = "/VehicleTracker";
}
.
.
.
to something like this:

Code: Select all

if(appId == 4)
{
   appPath = "/VehicleTracker2";
}
else if (appType == "GpsGate.BuddyTracker.BuddyTrackerApplication")
{
   appPath = "/BuddyTracker";
}
else if (appType == "GpsGate.VehicleTracker.VehicleTrackerApplication")
{
   appPath = "/VehicleTracker";
}
.
.
.
You have to identify your custom applications through the ApplicationId like in the example above. “if(appId == 4)….”

Remember that upgrade will not take care of those changes and will overwrite your changes.

Regards,
Franson Support
Bjorn Andersson

Return to “GpsGate Server - How to setup and use”