markgs
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2016 11:45 am

Translation not shown in the new V5 buttons

Tue Dec 12, 2017 8:08 pm

In Gps Gate Server version 5 some buttons with the plus sign are not showing the translation that was working with V4 version, but now only the English text is shown.

If you switch to a language that is not English, Swedish for example, you should reproduce the problem.

Some of the keys of the localization editor related to buttons that show the problem are:

Add new User
Add new Event Rule
Add new View
Add new Icon Category
New Tag


Has anyone noticed the same behavior ?

User avatar
Niklas
GpsGate
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 5:51 pm

Re: Translation not shown in the new V5 buttons

Wed Dec 13, 2017 10:36 am

Hi,

With the update some language keys have changed for the buttons.

You should be able to use the localization editor to add the keys. These are the new keys:

New User
New Event Rule
New View
New Category
New Tag


If you find other places where you are not able to translate, please reply back with a description or screenshot where it is located and we will fix it.
Regards,
Niklas

GpsGate Support

markgs
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2016 11:45 am

Re: Translation not shown in the new V5 buttons

Wed Dec 13, 2017 12:32 pm

If you find other places where you are not able to translate, please reply back with a description or screenshot where it is located
For sure
... we will fix it.
This means that the translation will work as before through the installed language plugin without having to add a new key and its translation with localisation editor ?

User avatar
Niklas
GpsGate
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 5:51 pm

Re: Translation not shown in the new V5 buttons

Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:59 pm

This means that the translation will work as before through the installed language plugin without having to add a new key and its translation with localisation editor ?
We will do our best to change the translation of the original key instead of adding new keys. However sometimes this is unavoidable. For the keys mentioned above you should add those keys via the localization editor and they will be translated.
Regards,
Niklas

GpsGate Support

markgs
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2016 11:45 am

Re: Translation not shown in the new V5 buttons

Thu Dec 14, 2017 10:02 pm

Hello, just one last question:

With the localization editor I can easily add new keys and its translation and export them to a Language_Changes. lang, but how to import this file back to GGS ?

User avatar
Niklas
GpsGate
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 5:51 pm

Re: Translation not shown in the new V5 buttons

Fri Dec 15, 2017 9:47 am

Hello, just one last question:

With the localization editor I can easily add new keys and its translation and export them to a Language_Changes. lang, but how to import this file back to GGS ?

Export is usually done if you are migrating to a new server and want to keep your custom translations. In this case you would export the language file and copy it to this directory on the server:
C:\GpsGateServer\IIS\Resources\Languages

Then go to SiteAdmin -> Settings tab -> Localization and click on "Rescan languages and measurements" button.
Regards,
Niklas

GpsGate Support

markgs
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2016 11:45 am

Re: Translation not shown in the new V5 buttons

Mon Dec 18, 2017 12:15 pm

When trying to translate fields on “Report manager” and “Create new report” page, after adding new keys with the Localization Editor under “Vehicle tracker” , “Reporting” or BC1000 BreadCrumb, I have noticed this:

the report name under the “Report” column of the “Report manager” is correctly translated, but is not translated under “Report definitions” drop down list. Also, when creating a new report, the content of filed “Name:” and “Description:” are not translated even thought a custom key was added.

On “Create new report” page also fields called “Period”, “EventRule” and “Tag” can’t be translated after adding a custom key.

User avatar
Niklas
GpsGate
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 5:51 pm

Re: Translation not shown in the new V5 buttons

Thu Dec 21, 2017 9:01 am

When trying to translate fields on “Report manager” and “Create new report” page, after adding new keys with the Localization Editor under “Vehicle tracker” , “Reporting” or BC1000 BreadCrumb, I have noticed this:

the report name under the “Report” column of the “Report manager” is correctly translated, but is not translated under “Report definitions” drop down list. Also, when creating a new report, the content of filed “Name:” and “Description:” are not translated even thought a custom key was added.

On “Create new report” page also fields called “Period”, “EventRule” and “Tag” can’t be translated after adding a custom key.

Thank you for your detailed explanation! We will take a look at this and fix it in an upcoming update.
Regards,
Niklas

GpsGate Support

markgs
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2016 11:45 am

Re: Translation not shown in the new V5 buttons

Fri Dec 22, 2017 6:48 pm

A correction about this:
On “Create new report” page also fields called “Period”, “EventRule” and “Tag” can’t be translated after adding a custom key.
To translate these keys you have to add a custom translation key on each report module and not only o the general report module.

All the other posted notes are valid.

markgs
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2016 11:45 am

Re: Translation not shown in the new V5 buttons

Tue Jan 02, 2018 11:23 am

After reviewing the translation of the various reports, I report below some of the few fields that cannot be translated:

EV1000 Event Rule - Total Events: (for the single event)
SY1000/ SY1001 - devices
TR1003 Trip & Idle (Compact) - Name - , Distance , Date: , Idle: , Travel time , Max Speed
TR2001 Trip & Idle (Detailed) - Hours , Minutes
TS1006 Sites Not Visited - Location drop down list
BC1000 BreadCrumb - Name: , Username:
DJ1000/ DJ1001/ DJ1002 - Name: , Typology drop down list
FC1002/ FC1003 - Accumulator drop down list
FU1004/ FU1005 - Vehicle:
SG1000/ SG1001 - Signal drop down list
MT1000/ MT1001 presents a clear problem with graphical layout, maybe due to a problem with css

Return to “GpsGate Server - How to setup and use”