Page 1 of 1

Track Points / Signal Graph problem

Posted: Thu Jun 04, 2015 10:45 pm
by Reglo
Lately I noticed that the "Battery Level" column is empty in the Track Points list, despite being defined properly in the Device Mapper. The battery level *does* appear in the Vehicles panel, but for some reason it's not being recorded in the track information.

A related issue is that the track graph does not contain the option to view the battery level signal. Strangely, the only variable available in the graph is "speed." The others (such as altitude) do not appear in the drop-down box despite being present in the Track Points list.

I suspect the problem began after the latest update. How can I troubleshoot this?

Thanks.

RE: Track Points / Signal Graph problem

Posted: Fri Jun 05, 2015 11:39 am
by Greg
As a first step, make sure the variable is properly mapped in the device mapper and that the device is sending the required signal.

Since there is no data in the Track Point panel, it looks like either the device is not sending it, you're using the wrong device mapper, or the variable is not mapped.

You can use the Terminal tool for debugging. Find out more in Advanced usage of this blog http://gpsgate.com/blogComment/device_mapper and here topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=10740

The Track Point graph displays the data from track point, therefore, if the data is not available in track point, it cannot be graphed.

Regards,
Greg

GpsGate Support

RE: Track Points / Signal Graph problem

Posted: Fri Jun 05, 2015 7:43 pm
by Reglo
Hi Greg,

The variable is mapped properly, and I can see everything being processed correctly in the Terminal. As I mentioned, the value does appear in the Vehicles panel, but not in Track Points.

There is definitely something wrong here. When I try modifying any device mapper template (or even just saving the default mapping) in Site Admin, the system responds that "the input string was not in a correct format." Here is a copy of the error log:

2015-06-05 09:29:54.9218 | Error | 7 | TemplateDeviceDefinition.btnSave_Click | DeviceType Save | System.FormatException: Input string was not in a correct format.
at System.Number.ParseDouble(String value, NumberStyles options, NumberFormatInfo numfmt)
at GpsGate.Online.Directory.DeviceDefinitionMetaField.ConvertFromString(String strValue, String strType, CultureInfo cultureInfo)
at GpsGate.WebControls.TemplateDeviceDefinition.GetMetaFields()
at GpsGate.WebControls.TemplateDeviceDefinition.btnSave_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)

What do you advise?

RE: Track Points / Signal Graph problem

Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:21 pm
by Mattias
Hey Reglo,

Can you post a screenshot of the device mapper template page in SiteAdmin before you click Save and you get the error? Or send it to support@gpsgate.com

Regards,
Mattias

RE: Track Points / Signal Graph problem

Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2015 5:24 pm
by Reglo
Mattias,

Below is the screenshot you requested. I have noticed that the error only occurs when trying to save mappers for Queclink devices. This leads me to believe that the problem is due to the recent update to the SensorLogic plugin.


Image
Image

Thanks for your help!

RE: Track Points / Signal Graph problem

Posted: Thu Jun 11, 2015 10:11 am
by Reglo
Can somebody please help resolve this issue?
Without a properly functioning device mapper, I'm kind of stuck...

Thank you.

RE: Track Points / Signal Graph problem

Posted: Thu Jun 11, 2015 10:13 am
by Greg
Hi,

We will release a Patch for this later today.

Regards,
Greg

GpsGate Support

RE: Track Points / Signal Graph problem

Posted: Fri Jun 12, 2015 12:48 pm
by Mattias
The Patch with a fix for this is available in the beta repository.

Regards,
Mattias

RE: Track Points / Signal Graph problem

Posted: Fri Jun 12, 2015 5:08 pm
by Reglo
Mattias,

Are you referring to the Patch.v4 update in the beta repository?

RE: Track Points / Signal Graph problem

Posted: Fri Jun 12, 2015 6:39 pm
by Reglo
Okay, I updated the Patch.v4 plugin, and that indeed resolved the issue concerning the device mapper template.

However, my original problems still exist: The Track Points and Signal Graph do not seem to recognize the values of Battery Level and other inputs, even though these display properly in the Terminal and Vehicles panel.