User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 15423
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

NEW FEATURE: Charts in reports

Thu Mar 13, 2014 1:19 pm

Note: for an updated version of this and other articles, we recommend you to check our knowledge base here

NEW FEATURE: Graphs in reports

You can now add graphs to reports.

Install

Make sure Patch.v4 and Reporting is "green" under SiteAdmin -> Plugins

Example of Usage

Add a chart that shows the number of events per users as a bar-graph.

1. Login to SiteAdmin
2. Go to Reporting
3. Click on "New". Select "EV1000 Event Rule" in drop down. Click Next.
4. Set a new name. E.g. "Event Graphs".
5. Right click on the Row right under [RuleName] (level 2) and select "Insert Chart above".


6. Setup the graphs like this:

Type: Column
Title: [RuleName] per vehicle
X Values: [Name]
Y Values: $count([Name])

7. Click OK
8. Save the report.

You can now active the report in any application and test it!

Feedback

Please let us know which kinds of graphs you want added to the standard reports. We will keep all standard reports as they are today without graphs, but we will introduce graph-variants of some of the reports.

Please also let us know if you miss any graph-features.

Remarks

Only the HTML and PDF-2 format supports graphs (not the PDF format).

Regards,
Johan

GpsGate Support

qtech
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 12:19 am

RE: NEW FEATURE: Charts in reports

Thu Mar 13, 2014 5:22 pm

hello try updating Patch.v4 and now I have an error:

Download error. Could not get response from the plugin repository: Error getting web response (probably timed out). Request URI: http://beta.gpsgate.com/3.0.0.2583/com. ... tch.v4.zip. Web Exception Status: ProtocolError. Error message: Error

Can you help?

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 15423
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: NEW FEATURE: Charts in reports

Thu Mar 13, 2014 5:34 pm

Please try again now.

Regards,
Johan

GpsGate Support

qtech
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 12:19 am

RE: NEW FEATURE: Charts in reports

Thu Mar 13, 2014 5:38 pm

thanks for the quick response support, I managed to update
They are very efficient!

Danieln
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 6:58 am
Location: Australia

RE: NEW FEATURE: Charts in reports

Fri Mar 21, 2014 7:59 am

A suggestion.

As per driver journal, when categorizing trips, you can see the trip in the Trip Map window.

If we could draw a Trip Map next to each vehicle on a daily trip / idle report for example, would be very cool :)

kriskri
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 1:34 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact: Website

RE: NEW FEATURE: Charts in reports

Wed May 07, 2014 11:50 pm

Hi,

I am trying to add same charts to reports. At the moment I am working under TR1001 and for same reason when I add chart I can see only every second name. See picture.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/po3wrnht0kftrax/Chart.png

X Values: [Name]

Any Idea how to resolve this problem. I want to see all vehicle name's.

Kind regards,
Krzysztof


Silentwatcher Ltd

rosol
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2012 3:11 pm

RE: NEW FEATURE: Charts in reports

Fri May 09, 2014 5:43 pm

Hi,
I would like to create FuelLevel Graph.
The data in report are grouped by trips.
How to create chart axis of fuel level with all track point values of trips?

Regards
rosol

kriskri
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 1:34 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact: Website

RE: NEW FEATURE: Charts in reports

Sat May 10, 2014 12:49 am

Dear GpsGate Support,

Do you have any suggestion regarding the chart's names problem?

PS. Could you make reports chart's title size editable. At the moment chart's title font size is to small.

PS2. How to set chart's bars or columns in order from the biggest value to the smallest value?

At the moment bars and columns are inversely sequenced to the vehicles list. Vehicles name's in an report A->Z, bars and columns Z->A. Is it a bug?

Kind Regards,
Krzysztof

Silentwatcher Ltd.

Originally posted by kriskri

Hi,

I am trying to add same charts to reports. At the moment I am working under TR1001 and for same reason when I add chart I can see only every second name. See picture.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/po3wrnht0kftrax/Chart.png

X Values: [Name]

Any Idea how to resolve this problem. I want to see all vehicle name's.

Kind regards,
Krzysztof


Silentwatcher Ltd

dcervi
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon May 26, 2014 3:15 pm
Location: Spain

RE: NEW FEATURE: Charts in reports

Thu Jun 19, 2014 8:59 pm

Originally posted by rosol

Hi,
I would like to create FuelLevel Graph.
The data in report are grouped by trips.
How to create chart axis of fuel level with all track point values of trips?

Regards
rosol


I'm also looking for a way to display temperature charts with all track point values on my reports, just like the graphs we can see on the trackpoints screen.

I've also found what I think is a bug on the charts. When using [SamplingStart] or [SamplingEnd] as the values for X axis, they are represented with their UTC values (they are considered as local values on the rest of the report.)

Juan
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 7:19 pm

RE: NEW FEATURE: Charts in reports

Thu Jun 26, 2014 2:46 pm

Hi,

In order to get a chart in the reports taking into account every trackpoint you have to use the BreadCrumb report with some modifications:

1. Install the BreadCrumb report
-Go to SiteAdmin/Plugins click in "Get more Plugins"
-Look for the BreadCrumb plugin and click the install link

2. Create a new DataProvider
-Go to SiteAdmin/Reporting/ManageDataProviders and select New, use BreadCrumb01 as template (should be displayed as Copy of BreadCrumb01).
-Select "value" from the dropdown list and click "Add". Then write a name, select the variable that you are using for temperature from the drop down, select the option "Last" and click the Insert button.
-Remove the default option in the "Select when data should be written" section and add a new "Column value change", select temperature (or the name that you have given to the variable) as the Monitor column.
-Save the DataProvider

3. Change the query for the BreadCrumb report.
-Go to SiteAdmin/Reporting/ManageReports and click the "New" button, use BC1000 BreadCrumb as template. Click Next
-Click the "Query Editor" button and then click on the query link "BreadCrumbDetailed" to display the query.
-Change every reference to the old data provider (BreadCrumb01) for the new data provider (CopyofBreadCrumb01 if you haven´t changed the name)
-Add a new line in the query right after Users.Username, and write the name of your new dataprovider and the temperature variable ending with ',' (CopyofBreadCrumb01.Temperature,)
-Save the query and click "back" to go to the Layout Editor.

4. Replace the Speed value for Temperature and add the chart
-Change the bold title Speed for Temperature
-Change the speed variable [Speed] for your variable, you can right click on the cell and look for it in "Fields" (for example: [Temperature]). You can also right click and select "Unit" to use SIGNAL_TEMPERATURE instead.
-Right click on the last row header colored in grey and select "insert chart above"
-Select the type of chart you want (StepLine or Columns should look fine), and set the values for X and Y axis to [SamplingStart] and [Temperature] respectively. You also can change the units and name the axis.
-Click OK and then Save the report.

5. Activate the report as describe in this link from section 2 onwards:
http://gpsgate.com/blogComment/activate ... _server_30

Note: Other graph types can be selected but data won´t be accurate. For the Columns options there might be some "gaps", that means the temperature value hasn´t changed, the StepLine shouldn´t show any gaps.

Regarding the date/time values in charts they shouldn´t be displayed in UTC. MAke sure you are using a date type and not a string type to display dates in charts.

Regards,
Juan

GpsGate Support

user4
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 9:52 pm

RE: NEW FEATURE: Charts in reports

Thu Jun 26, 2014 3:04 pm

Hi GpsGate Team,

I wonder if there is any progress regarding the name's problem in charts?


Kind regards,
Krzysztof


<blockquote id="quote"><font size="" face="" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote">Originally posted by kriskri
[br]Hi,

I am trying to add same charts to reports. At the moment I am working under TR1001 and for same reason when I add chart I can see only every second name. See picture.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/po3wrnht0kftrax/Chart.png

X Values: [Name]

Any Idea how to resolve this problem. I want to see all vehicle name's.

Kind regards,
Krzysztof


Silentwatcher Ltd

User avatar
Josip
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 2:30 pm
Location: Sweden

RE: NEW FEATURE: Charts in reports

Fri Jun 27, 2014 1:01 pm

New beta release of Reporting plugin is available. Download and install from beta.gpsgate.com repository.

In this release:

- Can set a fixed interval between axis value labels.
To show all vehicle names on X axis:
1. Open the report editor and add/edit a chart.
2. Check Fix.Interval for X axis
3. Set interval value to 1
4. Save changes

- Fixed: axis value labels for date/time values are now local as expected.


Regards,
Josip

GpsGate Support

dcervi
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon May 26, 2014 3:15 pm
Location: Spain

RE: NEW FEATURE: Charts in reports

Tue Jul 01, 2014 7:58 pm

Originally posted by Josip

New beta release of Reporting plugin is available. Download and install from beta.gpsgate.com repository.

In this release:

- Can set a fixed interval between axis value labels.
To show all vehicle names on X axis:
1. Open the report editor and add/edit a chart.
2. Check Fix.Interval for X axis
3. Set interval value to 1
4. Save changes

- Fixed: axis value labels for date/time values are now local as expected.


Regards,
Josip

GpsGate Support


Tested and date/time values are working fine.

Thank you!

PS: Still it would be nice if we could add a graph to any report with the values of a parameter for the period specified for the report. This way we wouldn't need a separate report for the graph.

David

kriskri
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 1:34 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact: Website

RE: NEW FEATURE: Charts in reports

Thu Jul 03, 2014 7:45 pm

Dear Support,

I wondering if there is any possibility to control colours of the charts?

Regards,
Krzysztof

Silentwatcher Ltd

User avatar
Josip
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 2:30 pm
Location: Sweden

RE: NEW FEATURE: Charts in reports

Mon Sep 01, 2014 12:29 pm

Originally posted by dcervi

PS: Still it would be nice if we could add a graph to any report with the values of a parameter for the period specified for the report. This way we wouldn't need a separate report for the graph.



I am not sure if that is what you meant, but in most reports parameters [PeriodStart] and [PeriodEnd] are available, and may be used as max/min values for an axis.



Originally posted by kriskri

I wondering if there is any possibility to control colours of the charts?


Currently, it is possible only indirectly. For example, if a chart should show a single series of y-values, add an additional series and enter the expression there, while leaving the first series blank. This will make it show in the next color of the default palette. Add more blank series before the one with the value to browse the default palette further.

Return to “GpsGate Server - How to setup and use”