Schneidert
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 8:18 pm

Laipac Device Ping

Wed Jan 22, 2014 11:15 pm

I have set up GPS Gate using a Laipac device for tracking. At the moment i have my device sending locations every ten minutes, but i was wondering if there was a way that i could leave my ten minute updates, but have an option on GPS gate to ping that device and get the location for that moment? im sure this is probably something i am looking past and is right infront of me. is this something in the commands that i need to set up?

Thanks,
Tyler

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 15024
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: Laipac Device Ping

Thu Jan 23, 2014 9:18 am

Please take a look at Template Commands
topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=10220

Regards,
Johan

GpsGate Support

Schneidert
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 8:18 pm

RE: Laipac Device Ping

Thu Jan 23, 2014 7:56 pm

Johan,

Thank you that helps me set it up.

Would anyone know the command to send to a Laipac device that will request the location be sent then?

Thanks

CPH-SE
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 12:37 am
Location: Denmark

RE: Laipac Device Ping

Fri Jan 24, 2014 2:24 pm

Hi Schneidert.

The Laipac command is: $AVREQ,password,1*CHKSUM


Originally posted by Schneidert

Johan,

Thank you that helps me set it up.

Would anyone know the command to send to a Laipac device that will request the location be sent then?

Thanks

Schneidert
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 8:18 pm

RE: Laipac Device Ping

Mon Jan 27, 2014 8:35 pm

CPH-SE

Have you used this using the GPS Gate Proxy Server? i have devices using both TCP and SMS. My TCP devices work great with this command while my SMS devices are not. While watching the SMS proxy server for GPS Gate it shows that it is sending the string as $AVREQ,password,1*5B instead of what i am sending is as $AVREQ,password,1*CHKSUM .

Any ideas what is causing this?

CPH-SE
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 12:37 am
Location: Denmark

RE: Laipac Device Ping

Wed Jan 29, 2014 4:36 am

Have you created two diffrent Template Command - one only using TCP and one for SMS only?


1) Please post the Template Command(s) you are using.

2) Please post the output lines from Terminal Window a) when using SMS - and b) when using TCP.

Schneidert
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 8:18 pm

RE: Laipac Device Ping

Wed Jan 29, 2014 4:25 pm

CPH-SE,

I have not set up the terminal command for sms yet as i have just been testing it sending it directly from the terminal. Below are three things, first is an example of the string i am sending in the terminal, two is the example of the terminal showing when i send it, and three is the GPS Gate SMS Proxy that is showing a different string as an outgoing message to the device.

1. example of the string i am sending using the terminal sms send button:
$AVREQ,911DEMO01,1*CHKSUM

2.example of terminal once string has been sent.
[1/29/2014 8:23:55 AM] (+17343532661/Laipac/sms) Client: $AVRSP,911DEMO1,02*4F[0x0D][0x0A]
[1/29/2014 8:23:30 AM] (+17343532661/Laipac/sms) Server: $AVREQ,911DEMO01,1*CHKSUM

3. example of SMS Proxy log
1/29/2014 8:23:35 AM | Outgoing SMS: Number +17343532661, Content = $AVREQ,911DEMO01,1*5B

1/29/2014 8:23:55 AM | Incoming SMS: Number +17343532661, Content = $AVRSP,911DEMO1,02*4F

Let me know what you think.

Thanks,
Schneidert

CPH-SE
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 12:37 am
Location: Denmark

RE: Laipac Device Ping

Thu Jan 30, 2014 12:40 am

You're sending "$AVREQ,911DEMO01,1*CHKSUM" from Terminal
and it shows "$AVREQ,911DEMO01,1*5B" in the SMS proxy window.

That is bacause GpsGate removes your checksum (*CHKSUM) and add one itself.

If you calculate the checksun of "AVREQ,911DEMO01,1" you'll get 5B.
You can use this page to calculate it: http://www.hhhh.org/wiml/proj/nmeaxor.html

Try sending "$AVREQ,911DEMO01,1*5B" and "$AVREQ,911DEMO01,1". You'll get same result in SMS Proxy window.

Note that the answer in your case ($AVRSP,911DEMO1,02*4F) means "Wrong password"

Hope it helps you.

jmtces
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 12:23 am

Re: RE: Laipac Device Ping

Thu Mar 02, 2017 10:24 pm

You're sending "$AVREQ,911DEMO01,1*CHKSUM" from Terminal
and it shows "$AVREQ,911DEMO01,1*5B" in the SMS proxy window.

That is bacause GpsGate removes your checksum (*CHKSUM) and add one itself.

If you calculate the checksun of "AVREQ,911DEMO01,1" you'll get 5B.
You can use this page to calculate it: http://www.hhhh.org/wiml/proj/nmeaxor.html

Try sending "$AVREQ,911DEMO01,1*5B" and "$AVREQ,911DEMO01,1". You'll get same result in SMS Proxy window.

Note that the answer in your case ($AVRSP,911DEMO1,02*4F) means "Wrong password"

Hope it helps you.
Hi CPH-SE, you seem to know the commands and command structure of the S911, I'm trying to find commands to set the GeoFence either via Terminal or SMS. any help on the command format would be appreciated.

James

Return to “GpsGate Server - How to setup and use”