J.Kesoe
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 8:37 pm

RE: NEW FEATURE: Maintenance

Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:34 am

Hello,

Is there a way to set up maintenance to "count" 15 000 km based on vehicle odometer but his signal (data) is taken from CANBus ? Thanks in advance.

Regards,
J.Kesoe

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 15293
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: NEW FEATURE: Maintenance

Fri Sep 27, 2013 2:03 pm

Yes, you can. Please read this on how to setup the odometer
topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=15099

Regards,
Johan

GpsGate Support

J.Kesoe
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 8:37 pm

RE: NEW FEATURE: Maintenance

Thu Oct 31, 2013 9:25 am

Hello Support,

Did you plan to update the Maintenance soon ? Thanks in advance.

Regards,

J. Kesoe


Originally posted by farnerup

I'm afraid it is not possible to use the device odometer in Maintenance, unless it the device odometer sends a delta value. It is something we intend to solve in the future.

Regards,
Fredrik

GpsGate Support

farnerup
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:13 pm
Location: Sweden

RE: NEW FEATURE: Maintenance

Thu Oct 31, 2013 5:28 pm

Correction: It is indeed possible to use the device odometer in Maintenance.
I deleted my earlier reply saying it wasn't possible.

How to set up the odometer:
topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=15099

Regards,
Fredrik

GpsGate Support

J.Kesoe
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 8:37 pm

RE: NEW FEATURE: Maintenance

Thu Oct 31, 2013 8:06 pm

Hello Fredrik,

Its not about device odometer, my question is about Maintenance to able to use with "Total Distance/Milage" parameter taken from CANBus. Thanks in advance.

Regards,
J.Kesoe

Originally posted by farnerup

Correction: It is indeed possible to use the device odometer in Maintenance.
I deleted my earlier reply saying it wasn't possible.

How to set up the odometer:
topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=15099

Regards,
Fredrik

GpsGate Support

farnerup
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:13 pm
Location: Sweden

RE: NEW FEATURE: Maintenance

Fri Nov 01, 2013 11:04 am

No, Maintenance only works with the odometer and the odometer can either be based on server-side calculations or on device odometer delta values, but not on absolute values from the device.

Regards,
Fredrik

GpsGate Support

J.Kesoe
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 8:37 pm

RE: NEW FEATURE: Maintenance

Fri Nov 01, 2013 12:20 pm

Hello,

So there is no way how to use it with information from CANBus ? Many of the custumers wants the Maintenance to be based on real vehicle Odometer value and as i said under every new truck after 2003 Odometer value is available from CANBus, it would be very usufull if you develop in future something in this direction.

Regards,
John

farnerup
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:13 pm
Location: Sweden

RE: NEW FEATURE: Maintenance

Fri Nov 01, 2013 1:03 pm

Maintenance can use values from the CANBus, if an Odometer is added to the vehicle in GpsGate. If you care about the total distance traveled since the vehicle was built, the Odometer has to be initialized to match the value in the actual vehicle.

In the Device Mapper under Device Odometer, can you select type OdometerAcc and an Input?

Regards,
Fredrik

GpsGate Support

farnerup
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:13 pm
Location: Sweden

RE: NEW FEATURE: Maintenance

Mon Nov 04, 2013 5:05 pm

Using the same maintenance schedule for multiple vehicles:

topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=16522

guytracker
Posts: 197
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 6:58 pm
Location: South Africa
Contact: Website

RE: NEW FEATURE: Maintenance

Mon Feb 03, 2014 3:57 pm

If I set up a maintenance schedule 'at regular intervals' of 15000 km, it seems that the next service is missing from the status. For example the odometer reading on Vehicle 1 is reported to be 38974 km. I initialised the maintenance by entering an event at 0km. Now the Maintence log shows a planned maintenance at 45000 km, which is correct. However the status window shows 21026 km to goto to the "Next Odometer Event". Surely this should be 6026 km

farnerup
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:13 pm
Location: Sweden

RE: NEW FEATURE: Maintenance

Mon Feb 03, 2014 4:22 pm

Yes, it should be 6026 km, unless the vehicle in question has more than one odometer-base schedule/event. Which version of the Maintenance plugin are you using?

Regards,
Fredrik A.
GpsGate Support

guytracker
Posts: 197
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 6:58 pm
Location: South Africa
Contact: Website

RE: NEW FEATURE: Maintenance

Wed Feb 05, 2014 11:32 am

@farnerup
Version 4.0.0.318

And I only have one schedule that covers all the vehicles

farnerup
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:13 pm
Location: Sweden

RE: NEW FEATURE: Maintenance

Wed Feb 05, 2014 1:13 pm

Hello guytracker,

I looked at the odometer issue again, and what you are seeing is actually the intended behaviour. When you added the schedule to the car with an odometer of 38974 km, it decided that the next service should be at 45000 km. Then, when you reported a service at 0 km, you reported that the service that was scheduled at 45000 km actually was performed at 0 km. (Note that when you log a service, you can see which planned service you report being serviced.)

So since the 45000 km service is reported as performed, the plugin moves to the next service, which is 60000 km, hence 60000 - 38974 = 21026.

Events which are "at regular intervals" do not need to be and should not be initialized. The problem should be solved by opening the log and deleting the service reported at 0 km.

Best regards,
Fredrik A.
GpsGate Support

guytracker
Posts: 197
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 6:58 pm
Location: South Africa
Contact: Website

RE: NEW FEATURE: Maintenance

Thu Feb 06, 2014 9:43 am

Ok, thanks for clearing that up but as you can see it wasn't intuitive.
I think the problem may have been caused because I started using "when an interval has passed since last service" and had entered the service entry. I then switched to "regular intervals" which caused the problem.
A feature that would be useful, shouldn't be difficult to implement and would prevent this problem would be the ability to enter service histories.

Right now we can only enter maintenance entries that occur after we start using the plug-in, but the ability to enter previous services would mean that we could keep a complete service history on the database - always useful when a vehicle is to be sold, especially if it could be printed out.

Again, thanks for the assistance.

Hus
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 9:22 pm

RE: NEW FEATURE: Maintenance

Thu Feb 20, 2014 4:34 pm

hi
i have strange problem some vehicles are counting down engine running hours although the fleet is same type same connection some went in negative hours, what might cause this issue ?
regards

Return to “GpsGate Server - How to setup and use”