piter197
Posts: 830
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 3:32 am

User Migration

Sat May 28, 2011 9:15 am

Hi,

I have a customer that have 5 user (user A, B, C, D, E) in Application-1 before. I need to migrate user D & E to Application-2, so the result will be Application-1 (user A, B, C) and Application-2 (user D, E). How to do this without deleting user D & E tracking data in database.

Thank you.


Best Regards,

Piter197

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 14950
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: User Migration

Sat May 28, 2011 1:50 pm

Please follow those steps:

1. Login to SiteAdmin.
2. Select the target application to which you want to migrate the users.
3. Use "Add existing users" to add the users to the new application.

The users are now al added as administrators to the target app.

4. Login to the traget app.
5. Move the users to the Roles they should have. E.g. from _Administrator to _Unit
6. Verify you can see tracks etc in the target app.

7. Login to the old application
8. Delete the move users. They will only be deleted from the application.

Limitation:

Even though you have changed Roles for the moved users in Target app, they will still be listed as "Admin" in SiteAdmin. But they are not admin, this is just a user interface bug.

Regards,
Johan

GpsGate Support

piter197
Posts: 830
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 3:32 am

RE: User Migration

Mon May 30, 2011 4:31 pm

Hi Johan,

Many thanks.... I've thought about that before, luckily you warn about this SiteAdmin bug.


Best Regards,

Piter197

Return to “GpsGate Server - How to setup and use”