Nome
Posts: 196
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 7:23 am

Garmin PND (FMI)

Sat Feb 12, 2011 12:20 am

Ok. Has any tried any integration of Garmin PND's with GPSGateServer?. I am just starting to look at FMI and i a hoping there is already work done in this regard.

Please some directed me to this topic was discussed before.

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 15431
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: Garmin PND (FMI)

Sat Feb 12, 2011 12:33 am

Currently the Teltonika and Cypress driver supports Garmin FMI. You can send jobs from the Dispatch plugin, and you can use it for Chat.

What kind of trackers are you using?

Regards,
Johan

GpsGate Support

Nome
Posts: 196
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 7:23 am

RE: Garmin PND (FMI)

Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:39 am

I am using X1 Plus. I am thinking of getting the the A1. Perhaps we should get those units then. I will talk to SystemTech support about their current support for Garmin FMI.

My understanding is that Garmin PND (Nuvi) can be connected to the tracking device via a special garmin serial cable. The GPSGateServer with its connection to the tracking device then is able to communicate with the Garmin PND. Is this correct?.

Thats very cool then that this is already been done. The dispatcher tool has been a smashing success for us that our board now wants to take it to the next level and have the fault service staff access to their real time location plus location of faults.

Johan. You guys should market this feature as its is very useful and i think is where things are heading.

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 15431
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: Garmin PND (FMI)

Sat Feb 12, 2011 4:21 pm

That is correct. We have however not implemented the "tunneling" of Garmin FMI data for Intellitrac, and I don't know if it is possible.

I will contact SysTech and see what can be done.

Thanks for your feedback, and I am glad you find GpsGate useful :-)

Regards,
Johan

GpsGate Support

Nome
Posts: 196
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 7:23 am

RE: Garmin PND (FMI)

Tue Feb 15, 2011 4:36 am

Johan. I got a response from Garmin and they said we must implement Garmin FMI server side first which is basically what you said. The other variable is Intellitrack. So it might take a while.

In the mean time perhaps some one can post a blog on how we could do this with Teltonika and Cyprus hardware as you mentioned?. Which model exactly?.

I think we will just buy these particular units for just our service vehicles which needs this functionality and then use the work you guys already did to make it work.

Regards,

Nome

rabi3
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 11:28 pm
Contact: Website

RE: Garmin PND (FMI)

Tue Feb 15, 2011 2:35 pm

Hi,

I just spoke to Pauline from SYSTECH and she told me actually they have the special firmware for A1 integration with Garmin PND

www.ntrackgps.com

Nome
Posts: 196
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2010 7:23 am

RE: Garmin PND (FMI)

Thu Feb 17, 2011 8:12 am

Hi Rabi3,

Thanks for the info and yes you are right. I asked system tech support as well and a guy name David said the same thing. According to him some of their customers were able to get gpsgateserver, A1 and Garmin PND to work together. I am not sure thought if it was a in house built solution which is what i suspect.

hpi
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 1:50 pm

RE: Garmin PND (FMI)

Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:09 am

Hi,

I have GPSGATE V3, server is 3.0.0.2583. I have Installed and enabled the Garmin plugin, 3.0.0.2750.

With the above done, I can't seem to select the Garmin PND as a device. It only shows the other devices I have installed, but not the Garmin PND.

Any ideas where I can change it to also show the Garmin PND as a device? I want to connect it to a Teltonika device.

Thanks

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 15431
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: Garmin PND (FMI)

Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:15 am

You need to install the "Chat" plugin as well.

Regards,
Johan

GpsGate Support

hpi
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 1:50 pm

RE: Garmin PND (FMI)

Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:25 am

Thanks Johan, it's now showing.

Thanks for the very quick reply!

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 15431
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: Garmin PND (FMI)

Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:29 am

What is not showing? Have you installed the Chat plugin?

Regards,
Johan

GpsGate Support

hpi
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 1:50 pm

RE: Garmin PND (FMI)

Thu Mar 10, 2011 1:00 am

Hi Johan, maybe your read the last reply too fast. It IS showing :)

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 15431
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: Garmin PND (FMI)

Thu Mar 10, 2011 1:10 am

Oh :-)

Regards,
Johan

GpsGate Support

User avatar
SNOtwistR
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 10:16 pm
Location: Keswick, Ontario Canada
Contact: Website Facebook

RE: Garmin PND (FMI)

Thu Mar 10, 2011 6:43 pm

any plans on adding the enfora modem?

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 15431
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: Garmin PND (FMI)

Thu Mar 10, 2011 6:45 pm

If you have any protocol documents for this we can consider it. Please send any to support@gpsgate.com

Regards,
Johan

GpsGate Support

Return to “GpsGate Server - How to setup and use”