madams5005
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 8:10 pm

problems running gpsgate v2.5.0.196 with vista

Tue Jul 10, 2007 8:17 pm

johan, I'm using windows vista home premium and I'm using a progin sgm-108 gps receiver.I'm using gpsgate v2.5.0.196 and it works for a short period of time then says np gps data coming in but my receiver is working properly when I stop using gpsgate.is there a fix or a new version I can get or you can send me. my email is madams5005@alltel.net thanks

Michael Adams

madams5005
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 8:10 pm

RE: problems running gpsgate v2.5.0.196 with vista

Thu Jul 12, 2007 7:21 am

i upgraded to build 210 and it is still doing this problem.please help me with this issue

Michael Adams

Yemble
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 3:08 pm

RE: problems running gpsgate v2.5.0.196 with vista

Thu Jul 12, 2007 11:32 pm

Michael, GpsGate works perfectly well under Vista x32 (but NOT x64), however, I suspect that your issue is concerned with your BlueTooth stack, that's assuming that your receiver is BT based.

I had all sorts of problems with BlueSoleil, however, switching to WIDCOMM solved ALL of my BT related issues.

madams5005
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 8:10 pm

RE: problems running gpsgate v2.5.0.196 with vista

Fri Jul 13, 2007 12:08 am

ok I'm not sure what that means.I'm not using a bluetooth receiver. it a usb gps receiver but anyways what do I need to do.could u send me some links for whatever I need to download and instructions.thanks

Michael Adams

Yemble
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 3:08 pm

RE: problems running gpsgate v2.5.0.196 with vista

Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:14 am

OK, well so much for that theory. Same symptoms, but obviously nothing to do with BlueTooth as you are not using it. I am afraid I cannot offer you a solution as I do not have the same gear as you.

...back to Yohan...

madams5005
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 8:10 pm

RE: problems running gpsgate v2.5.0.196 with vista

Sat Jul 14, 2007 7:49 am

is there a certain type of a usb gps receiver that u would recommend that's works great with vista and gpsgate.

Michael Adams

Yemble
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 3:08 pm

RE: problems running gpsgate v2.5.0.196 with vista

Sun Jul 15, 2007 4:39 pm

Michael, that's a difficult question to answer without knowing what you intend to use your GPS for. My primary interest is for land navigation, both in and out of the car.

I run TomTom on my Asus MyPal A639 PDA for satnav but then switch to Memory-Map on the PDA for walking. Whilst in the car, I use GpsGate to feed the GPS data from the PDA to my laptop over a BlueTooth connection. On the laptop, I run the GPS feed to both Memory-Map and AutoRoute so that my wife can navigate without the need for any paper maps.

The laptop is running Vista Home (32-bit) and the PDA is running Windows Mobile 5.

My GPS receiver is built into the PDA and is obviously a BlueTooth device (SiRF III chipset). The BT software stack that I run on all devices is WIDCOMM v5.1.0.3300.

The ASUS A639 is a smart bit of kit, tricky to find but well worth tracking down. For around £250 you get 412MHz Intel CPU, 128Mb ROM, 1Gb on-board flash(!), SDRAM slot, WiFi, BlueTooth, IR, car kit and exceptional battery life. The 1Gb flash is sooooooo useful!!!

Needless to say, MyPal has not let me down yet. [8D]

madams5005
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 8:10 pm

RE: problems running gpsgate v2.5.0.196 with vista

Sun Jul 15, 2007 9:10 pm

well I'm a truck driver using a hp dv9000 series notebook,its brand new, I'm using a ProGin SGM-108 USB Receiver and I use CO-Pilot truck laptop 9 navigational program so I use this to get to and from shippers and receivers out here on the road but it works for a short time and the gpsgate icon on my taskbar turns red and it says running ok no data coming in but if I run it without gpsgate then everything works great but I need to use my gps for multiple programs at one time so I need help

Michael Adams

Yemble
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 3:08 pm

RE: problems running gpsgate v2.5.0.196 with vista

Mon Jul 16, 2007 2:27 am

OK, I know absolutely nothing about trucks, so I am assuming that your laptop is physically mounted in the cab somehow to run the satnav program. I have looked up your GPS model and it does not look like a particularly expensive bit of kit. I have also checked out the HP DV9000 and it looks to me like you may have a built in BlueTooth adapter available within your laptop.

If so, then I would be tempted to scrap your USB GPS unit and invest in a BlueTooth unit that is known to work with GpsGate. There should be others on this forum who can advise you about suitable models for standalone BT GPS receivers.

As I stated before, I can only advise you on the technology that I use (ie. BlueTooth) and that GpsGate works perfectly with Vista Home (32-bit) using a feed from an external BlueTooth GPS source using virtual COM: ports (ie. my PDA).

Yemble
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat May 05, 2007 3:08 pm

RE: problems running gpsgate v2.5.0.196 with vista

Mon Jul 16, 2007 6:35 am

Before condemning your GPS, try the following:

1) Run Vista through Windows Update to bring it bang up to date.
2) Get the latest driver from the vendor Web site for your GPS unit and then update Windows via Device Manager.
3) Log onto Vista using an administrative account.
4) Exit all apps.
5) Run GpsGate as an application rather than a service.
6) Run the GpsGate Wizard and let it discover your GPS receiver.
7) In the Advanced tab, click on "Show More Options".
8) In the Output tab, add in a "Virtual COM Port" and note the number.
9) Keep adding more vCOM ports until you have reached COM11:
10) Now remove all vCOM ports below COM9: (ie. you are left with three, 9, 10 & 11) in the Output tab window.
11) Start up CoPilot and configure it for NMEA input on COM9:
12) If this works, then configure your next application on COM10: (etc.) - ONLY one app per COM: port!
13) If you are still having problems, check the Power Options in Vista and prevent it from powering down any USB ports.
14) ONLY GpsGate should ever access the GPS unit directly.

Good luck! [:)]

madams5005
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 8:10 pm

RE: problems running gpsgate v2.5.0.196 with vista

Tue Jul 17, 2007 3:11 am

how do you run gpsgate as an application instead of a service.I need instructions.thanks


Michael Adams

richardhula
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 6:33 pm

RE: problems running gpsgate v2.5.0.196 with vista

Tue Jul 17, 2007 1:05 pm

Running GpsGate as an application is the "normal" way of running it - you see GpsGate icon bottom right of screen.

Running as a Service using option from Start menu, GpsGate runs in background with whatever set-up from when you last ran it as an application. In this mode you get no desktop indication its running & no means of changing settings. It will automatically start with Windows.

To change settings you have to stop service then run it as application, i.e. normally.

You cannot set GpsGate to Start with Windows AND run as a Service. There is obviously a conflict & a warning message will appear.

Richard

madams5005
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 8:10 pm

RE: problems running gpsgate v2.5.0.196 with vista

Tue Jul 17, 2007 1:51 pm

ok thanks for the info.

Michael Adams

Return to “GpsGate Splitter - How to setup and use”