Page 1 of 1

Set input/output to different Baud rates

Posted: Tue Jun 22, 2010 4:45 pm
by graywallis
How do you set up the input to Baud rate 38400 on Comport X and the output to 4800 on virtual comport 1? (Or any other combination of differing Baud rates and Comports?)

RE: Set input/output to different Baud rates

Posted: Tue Jun 22, 2010 4:58 pm
by johan
The Virtual Ports will handle all baud rates automatically. Set input to the baudrate you need, and create a Virtual Port as output.

Regards,
Johan

Franson Support

RE: Set input/output to different Baud rates

Posted: Tue Jun 22, 2010 5:23 pm
by graywallis
How do you set output to 4800 Baud?

RE: Set input/output to different Baud rates

Posted: Tue Jun 22, 2010 5:49 pm
by johan
The Virtual Ports will handle all baud rates automatically.

Regards,
Johan

Franson Support

RE: Set input/output to different Baud rates

Posted: Thu Jun 24, 2010 8:52 pm
by graywallis
Thank you. Yes, data available at any Baud rate so the virtual comport must be an address or variable name rather than a 'real' serial port?

RE: Set input/output to different Baud rates

Posted: Thu Jun 24, 2010 8:54 pm
by johan
It acts as a real COM port.

Test, that is the best way to understand.

Regards,
Johan

Franson Support

RE: Set input/output to different Baud rates

Posted: Sun Jul 04, 2010 5:14 pm
by Neptunus
Yes, that is how GpsGate´s virtual ports work.

But just out of curiosity,

How does GpsGate handle a situation where there is more input data than what the output can handle? The OP´s situation is a typical example where that might happen. Some data obviously need to be discarded. But what kind of logic does GpsGate use when selecting what to transmit and what to discard? And for how long does GpsGate buffer data if the input rate just temporarily exceed what the output can handle?

Micke

RE: Set input/output to different Baud rates

Posted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 12:56 pm
by richardhula
I think the buffer limitation would be on the software connected to virtual port. GpsGate will pass data as received.

Richard

There no place like 127.0.0.1