Page 1 of 1

How to configure new setup

Posted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 8:46 pm
by cmann
Hi all,
I have been running GpsGate on my racing sailboat for a few years. Setup was a Tacktick Micronet wireless network feeding NMEA (including GPS info from a Garmin GPS as well as lots of other data) through an NMEA concentrator at 4800 via a serial connector to a laptop running XP. GpsGate then split the stream to two different virtual com ports - one for Fugawi (navigational) and one for TacSail (www.tacsail.be) which is a performance sailing program. The stream included GPS info but much more as well. This worked well except that the laptop had trouble keeping up with the processing required ... so I have upgraded the laptop and the new one runs Vista (Home Edition. I bought the latest (v2.6) GpsGate to load on.

The new laptop does not have a serial port, so I purchased a serial-USB connector (said to be appropriate for Vista) which also came with a driver on CD.
So far, I haven't had much luck getting the setup to work and I suspect I just haven't got the configuration correct. I assume that I install the driver for the USB/serial converter? Then what do I set GpsGate to? The wizard doesn't detect the NMEA stream currently. Do I have to configure it manually?
I also tried, as a first step, to just connect the Garmin 76 directly to the serial/USB connector (vs the NMEA stream from the Micronet) and again, the wizard doesn't detect the NMEA (4800) stream.
What am I doing wrong?

Any help much appreciated.

RE: How to configure new setup

Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 6:39 am
by richardhula
With your USB-COM port adaptor plugged in & relevant drivers installed, go to Control Panel>Device Manager & look under "Ports (COM & LPT)" heading. There you should see your device listed with a COM port number assignment. If not then your adaptor is not installed properly.

Assuming you find it listed without any error symbol (yellow exclamation mark), then with NMEA data streaming to it, the GpsGate set-up Wizard should find the feed. If not try entering the COM port number you found manually.

Richard

There no place like 127.0.0.1

RE: How to configure new setup

Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 7:31 am
by cmann
Thanks for the reply. I've now got it so it finds the Garmin 76 and correctly streams the NMEA to the two programs. Looks like the driver installation is specific to one USB socket? I had installed the driver for the USB/serial converter with it in one socket and, I think, plugged it into a different one when testing. Hopefully it will work with the NMEA stream coming from my Tacktick system. The next challenge will be getting the data that comes back from TacSail back to the network (ie the other direction). That will have to wait for warmer weather however, when I can work on the boat.