hangedman
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 12:41 am
Location: Canada

Green icon, no valid GPS signal

Sat Sep 26, 2009 5:47 pm

Hello,

I have version 2.6 installed on both my htc touch pro 2 and my winXP laptop. I ran the wizards on both, I'm sharing over activesync, and I have a green icon on both but Streets & Trips never gets a valid GPS fix. I used HyperTerminal to capture a few seconds of the output of "Virtual COM5" on the laptop which I hope will help see what the problem might be.

============================================================

$GPGGA,,,,,,0,,,,,,,,*66
$GPRMC,,V,,,,,,,,,*31
$GPGLL,,,,,,A*11
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,50.00,50.00,50.00*35
$GPGSV,1,1,02,31,62,057,23,16,61,198,13*7C
$GPGGA,,,,,,0,,,,,,,,*66
$GPRMC,,V,,,,,,,,,*31
$GPGLL,,,,,,A*11
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,50.00,50.00,50.00*35
$GPGSV,1,1,02,31,62,057,23,16,61,198,13*7C
$GPGGA,,,,,,0,,,,,,,,*66
$GPRMC,,V,,,,,,,,,*31
$GPGLL,,,,,,A*11
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,50.00,50.00,50.00*35
$GPGSV,1,1,02,31,62,057,22,16,61,198,13*7D
$GPGGA,,,,,,0,,,,,,,,*66
$GPRMC,,V,,,,,,,,,*31
$GPGLL,,,,,,A*11
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,50.00,50.00,50.00*35
$GPGSV,1,1,02,31,62,057,23,16,61,198,13*7C
$GPGGA,,,,,,0,,,,,,,,*66
$GPRMC,,V,,,,,,,,,*31
$GPGLL,,,,,,A*11
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,50.00,50.00,50.00*35
$GPGSV,1,1,02,31,61,059,22,16,61,198,13*70
$GPGGA,,,,,,0,,,,,,,,*66
$GPRMC,,V,,,,,,,,,*31
$GPGLL,,,,,,A*11
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,50.00,50.00,50.00*35
$GPGSV,1,1,02,31,62,057,22,16,61,198,13*7D
$GPGGA,,,,,,0,,,,,,,,*66
$GPRMC,,V,,,,,,,,,*31
$GPGLL,,,,,,A*11
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,50.00,50.00,50.00*35
$GPGSV,1,1,02,31,62,057,23,16,61,198,13*7C
$GPGGA,,,,,,0,,,,,,,,*66
$GPRMC,,V,,,,,,,,,*31
$GPGLL,,,,,,A*11
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,50.00,50.00,50.00*35
$GPGSV,1,1,02,31,62,057,23,16,61,198,13*7C
$GPGGA,,,,,,0,,,,,,,,*66
$GPRMC,,V,,,,,,,,,*31
$GPGLL,,,,,,A*11
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,50.00,50.00,50.00*35
$GPGSV,1,1,02,31,62,057,22,16,61,198,13*7D
$GPGGA,,,,,,0,,,,,,,,*66
$GPRMC,,V,,,,,,,,,*31
$GPGLL,,,,,,A*11
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,50.00,50.00,50.00*35
$GPGSV,1,1,02,31,62,057,22,16,61,198,13*7D
$GPGGA,,,,,,0,,,,,,,,*66
$GPRMC,,V,,,,,,,,,*31
$GPGLL,,,,,,A*11
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,50.00,50.00,50.00*35
$GPGSV,1,1,02,31,62,057,23,16,61,198,13*7C
$GPGGA,,,,,,0,,,,,,,,*66
$GPRMC,,V,,,,,,,,,*31
$GPGLL,,,,,,A*11
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,50.00,50.00,50.00*35
$GPGSV,1,1,02,31,62,057,22,16,61,198,13*7D
$GPGGA,,,,,,0,,,,,,,,*66
$GPRMC,,V,,,,,,,,,*31
$GPGLL,,,,,,A*11
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,50.00,50.00,50.00*35
$GPGSV,1,1,02,31,62,057,22,16,61,198,13*7D
$GPGGA,,,,,,0,,,,,,,,*66
$GPRMC,,V,,,,,,,,,*31
$GPGLL,,,,,,A*11
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,50.00,50.00,50.00*35
$GPGSV,1,1,02,31,62,057,22,16,61,198,13*7D
$GPGGA,,,,,,0,,,,,,,,*66
$GPRMC,,V,,,,,,,,,*31
$GPGLL,,,,,,A*11
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,50.00,50.00,50.00*35
$GPGSV,1,1,02,31,62,057,22,16,61,198,13*7D
$GPGGA,,,,,,0,,,,,,,,*66
$GPRMC,,V,,,,,,,,,*31
$GPGLL,,,,,,A*11
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,50.00,50.00,50.00*35
$GPGSV,1,1,02,31,62,057,24,16,61,198,13*7B
$GPGGA,,,,,,0,,,,,,,,*66
$GPRMC,,V,,,,,,,,,*31
$GPGLL,,,,,,A*11
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,50.00,50.00,50.00*35
$GPGSV,1,1,02,31,62,057,22,16,61,198,13*7D
$GPGGA,,,,,,0,,,,,,,,*66
$GPRMC,,V,,,,,,,,,*31
$GPGLL,,,,,,A*11
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,50.00,50.00,50.00*35
$GPGSV,1,1,02,31,62,057,21,16,61,198,13*7E
$GPGGA,,,,,,0,,,,,,,,*66
$GPRMC,,V,,,,,,,,,*31
$GPGLL,,,,,,A*11
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,50.00,50.00,50.00*35
$GPGSV,1,1,02,31,62,057,23,16,61,198,13*7C


======================================================

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 15220
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: Green icon, no valid GPS signal

Sat Sep 26, 2009 5:51 pm

This data will not give you a green icon. It will give you a yellow icon. (You can change to an icon easier to determine color of under the Advanced tab).

Since the data does not contain any position data, the GPS application does not get the information it needs. Make sure your device/GPS is positioned under a clear sky.

Regards,
Johan

Franson Support

hangedman
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2005 12:41 am
Location: Canada

RE: Green icon, no valid GPS signal

Sat Sep 26, 2009 9:33 pm

Perhaps there is a bug because I really do get a green icon. I never get a yellow icon, it goes from red to green.

I am positioned indoors, which I know wouldn't normally wouldn't work, but when I was using Telus Navigator (I am with TELUS) it would find my position inside malls, office buildings, in long tunnels, underground garages and so on. I understand this to be AGPS.

richardhula
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 6:33 pm

RE: Green icon, no valid GPS signal

Tue Sep 29, 2009 2:35 am

Whether you have a green icon or not, the data you captured shows completely null GPS NMEA data sentences. GGA, GLL & RMC sentences should all contain lat/long position, yours don't.

Although assisted GPS implementation varies from one device to another, generally it uses data from cell phone towers to supplement almanac info needed to find GPS satellites before a fix can be obtained. This speeds up the fix process but does not replace the position data eventually received from GPS satellites. There is no way therefore you can get an accurate fix in a tunnel or under the roof of a concrete building.

Can only assume that you receive legacy position when in such situations or maybe a very rough fix from cell tower triangulation.

Richard

Return to “GpsGate Splitter - How to setup and use”