weiland_markus
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 2:22 pm
Location: Austria

DiscoverDevices - no name returned

Mon May 04, 2009 2:22 pm

i have some problems with function DiscoverDevices. on my computer it's working perfectly and returns the devices (class Device) which can be transformed to RemoteDevice to get the name. on other computers the transformation to RemoteDevice isnot working and so it's not possible to get the name of the device (i have than only the mac address). sometimes the transformation to RemoteDevice is working but name and signal-strength are sill empty.

any suggestions.

Jonas
Posts: 2319
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 2:20 pm
Location: Sweden

RE: DiscoverDevices - no name returned

Mon May 04, 2009 2:49 pm

Are you using the same stack on the different computers?
I.e. SignalStrength is only available for the Widcomm stack.

Regards,
Jonas

weiland_markus
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 2:22 pm
Location: Austria

RE: DiscoverDevices - no name returned

Mon May 04, 2009 4:15 pm

On all computers it's "Microsoft Bluetooth Stack". Signal strength is ok but the missing name is not so good.

Regards,
Markus Weiland.

Jonas
Posts: 2319
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 2:20 pm
Location: Sweden

RE: DiscoverDevices - no name returned

Mon May 04, 2009 4:35 pm

Name is not populated when you create your own RemoteDevice object I seem to remember.
It's populated when you connect and when you run a DeviceDiscovery.

In any case, if it works on some computers and not on some it's a stack issue, not much that can be done in the short run.

Regards,
Jonas

weiland_markus
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 2:22 pm
Location: Austria

RE: DiscoverDevices - no name returned

Mon May 18, 2009 1:38 pm

the stack and version is the same on all computers i tested. on some computers the RemoteDevice object is returned and on others onle the device object.

the connect to the device always failes so it's not possible to query the name this way.

any other suggestions?

Jonas
Posts: 2319
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 2:20 pm
Location: Sweden

RE: DiscoverDevices - no name returned

Mon May 18, 2009 1:51 pm

If the connect always fails I guess the device simply isn't giving the name during the discovery process.

Regards,
Jonas

weiland_markus
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 2:22 pm
Location: Austria

RE: DiscoverDevices - no name returned

Mon May 18, 2009 2:05 pm

But the name is given on my computer. Both computers find the same MAC addresses. On one computer i can get the name and on the other not.

Jonas
Posts: 2319
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 2:20 pm
Location: Sweden

RE: DiscoverDevices - no name returned

Mon May 18, 2009 2:51 pm

Perhaps the name is cached on one computer, and not on the other.
Otherwise I don't know.

Regards,
Jonas

weiland_markus
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 2:22 pm
Location: Austria

RE: DiscoverDevices - no name returned

Tue May 26, 2009 11:54 am

you mean that this function only returns the name if the device was allready scanned by windows?

Jonas
Posts: 2319
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2006 2:20 pm
Location: Sweden

RE: DiscoverDevices - no name returned

Tue May 26, 2009 1:44 pm

No, but the cache is filled by BlueTools as well as by the regular Windows functions.

Regards,
Jonas

Return to “BlueTools”