tommie
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 10:13 pm
Location: Belgium

Signal Strength Property Unit

Tue Apr 11, 2006 12:35 am

Hello

The BlueTools documentation mentions a signal strenth property located in the interval [-10,+10]. I'm wondering if this value is just an indicator (very low, low, ..., high, very high), if there's a unit associated with it, or if it is possible to calculate a value in some unit (e.g. dBm) from it?

Best regards
tommie

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 15289
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: Signal Strength Property Unit

Tue Apr 11, 2006 12:11 pm

There is no unit. 0 is the best value. ABove 10 is very high, below -10 it is very low. You can read about this in the reference manual.

Regards,
Johan

Franson Support

tommie
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 10:13 pm
Location: Belgium

RE: Signal Strength Property Unit

Tue Apr 11, 2006 1:26 pm

Is there someone who has tried to retrieve this value (RSSI) on an HP iPAQ 24xx PDA? I've tried it and the software always returns 0; I'm wondering if this is normal (not supported by the hardware) or due to some incorrect setting in de Broadcom manager.

Best regards
tommie

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 15289
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: Signal Strength Property Unit

Tue Apr 11, 2006 1:36 pm

Note that you need to have a connection to a remote service or be in a middle of a service discovery to get a value different from 0.

Regards,
Johan

Franson Support

Return to “BlueTools”