Page 1 of 1

BlueTools.dll not installed. Please visit franson.

Posted: Sat Apr 08, 2006 1:07 am
by balloonatic
How about some instructions on how to load BlueTools into the CF development environment including the Emulator. Your installation instructions seem to be centered around getting BlueTools to work on a REAL device. I'm having a hard time getting it to work on teh Emulator???

Step #4 seems to be for a REAL device and not the emulator. I had the same problems with GPSTools but somehow got around it? I'm wasting tons of time trying to get this to work!

4. First you need to install some native DLLs

You find the native DLLs under:
Start -> Program -> Franson BlueTools SDK -> .NET Compact Framework 1.0 -> Samples & Assemblies -> wince420

BlueTools.dll. (Core DLL, must be installed)
BlueToolsMS.dll (Microsoft stack support).
BlueToolsWC.dll (WidComm stack support).
BlueToolsWC150.dll (Extended WidComm stack support).

All those DLLs should be copied to \Windows on your device (easiest during development), or to the same directory as your application EXE (recommended at distribution).

The easiest way to do this is to transfer BlueTools.arm.CAB file to the device and run it. The CAB will install all native DLLs in \Windows.

Note! ARM and XScale are the same type of processor. ARM is used by all Pocket PC devices that has Bluetooth. Other processors might be used by custom Windows CE devices. If you need DLLs for another processor, please contact us.


See Yah

RE: BlueTools.dll not installed. Please visit franson.

Posted: Sat Apr 08, 2006 1:55 am
by balloonatic
I copied C:\Program Files\Franson\BlueTools SDK v1.1\dotNetCF\wince420\x86\BlueTools.dll and C:\Program Files\Franson\BlueTools SDK v1.1\dotNetCF\wince420\x86\BlueToolsMS.dll to my project folder and added them to my project with a "Build Action" of "Content" and the application will now start without that annoying message.

Is this the way I can ensure that the set of four ARM .dlls...
BlueTools.dll (Core DLL, must be installed)
BlueToolsMS.dll (Microsoft stack support)
BlueToolsWC.dll (WidComm stack support)
BlueToolsWC150.dll (Extended WidComm stack support).
can get moved accross when I deploy to the "real device".


See Yah

RE: BlueTools.dll not installed. Please visit franson.

Posted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 11:08 am
by Jonas
There are no instructions for how to put the BlueTools on an emulator since the emulator has no Bluetooth support and thus BlueTools won't work on it.

Regards,
Jonas
Franson Support