Micha
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 3:15 pm
Location: Germany
Contact: Website

No respose on DiscoverDevicesAsync() sometimes

Wed Mar 15, 2006 3:33 pm

Hello,

i use BlueTools for CF 2.0 on devices with MS or Widcomm stack.

On devices using Widcomm stack (rugged hp4150 in my case), i sometimes don't get any results on device discoveries.
The completed-event is fired, it just doesn't find devices. (there are several, for sure)

It makes no difference if i use the async or blocking function.
After a soft reset, everything works fine again. Less than that won't do.
Never had that problem on devices with MS stack.

Anybody with the same experience?
If the Widcomm stack kind of winds up and causes that error, can i call ReloadStack() somehow?

Greetings to all, and thanks in advance!

Micha

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 15289
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: No respose on DiscoverDevicesAsync() sometimes

Wed Mar 15, 2006 4:08 pm

BlueTools does not offer any method to reset the stack.

If you have a connection open device discovery won't return any devices.

In general is the WidComm stack less stable than the MS stack.

Regards,
Johan

Franson Support

Micha
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 3:15 pm
Location: Germany
Contact: Website

RE: No respose on DiscoverDevicesAsync() sometimes

Wed Mar 15, 2006 8:39 pm

Hello,

and thanks for your quick answer.

I double checked the code on not being connected before starting a new discovery,
also on a current that might still be pending, etc.

I tried to turn the bt radio off and on again by the taskpane icon, after that everythings fine again.
Is there any way to get that behaviour from within my own apps?

I'm a little confused because i read that you can't disable the radio on widcomm stack,
in another thread here in the forum:
http://www.franson.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=2516&SearchTerms=radio,off

How do the widcomm <-- [}:)] guys enable/disable the radio without RadioOn() and RadioOff()?

Greetings

Micha

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 15289
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: No respose on DiscoverDevicesAsync() sometimes

Wed Mar 15, 2006 8:47 pm

The WidComm API does not look like the MS API, it is something completely different.

And no, you cannot turn the radio off using BlueTools for the moment. And WidComm does not allow this beeing done from an application.

Regards,
Johan

Franson Support

Micha
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 3:15 pm
Location: Germany
Contact: Website

RE: No respose on DiscoverDevicesAsync() sometimes

Thu Mar 16, 2006 1:41 am

OK, things cleared so far, many thanks to you johan!

I sticked to those radio on/off stuff because i licenced widcomms stack at v1.2 formerly, as these functions were still available.

Just need to mention that widcomm v1.2 was a pain in the a*s. Throwing stack overflows after some hours/days, especially when stressed.

Looks like i need to convince our customer to soft reset the pda if his target devices won't respond to discoveries any more.
"If we don't have it, you don't want it." [:D]

Kind regards,
Micha

Return to “BlueTools”