Skip
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 1:20 am
Location: USA

GpsGate 1.10 losing configuration

Mon Mar 24, 2008 7:22 pm

I'm evaluating using GpsGate 1.10 on a windows CE 5.0 device right now, and it has a very strange problem. I have it configured with an input of COM0, 4800 baud, and set up a virtual port output of COM6. It seems to work sometimes, but sometimes when I launch it it has 'lost' the output. Nothing will appear in the output list. If I go and look in the registry at HKCU\Software\Franson\GpsGate\Output the listing for COM6 there will sometimes be gone, sometimes still be there.

Is there something I can do to avoid this?

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 14372
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: GpsGate 1.10 losing configuration

Mon Mar 24, 2008 7:55 pm

Can you see any pattern in when you loose configuration?

In GpsGate 1.10 the configuration is saved when GpsGate exists.

Regards,
Johan

Franson Support

Skip
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 1:20 am
Location: USA

RE: GpsGate 1.10 losing configuration

Mon Mar 24, 2008 10:03 pm

Not that I can tell. For example, just now I started restarted my handheld, ran GPSGate, after setting the value in the registry. I did this 3 times successfully, restarting the device in between. The fourth time the virtual port was missing. This time I tried to add it back in the window and I get a messagebox that says "2 : failed to create device".

But other times when this happens I can successfully re-add the virtual port.

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 14372
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: GpsGate 1.10 losing configuration

Mon Mar 24, 2008 10:06 pm

What does "restart" mean. Is that a soft reset?

Regards,
Johan

Franson Support

Skip
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 1:20 am
Location: USA

RE: GpsGate 1.10 losing configuration

Mon Mar 24, 2008 11:42 pm

Yes

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 14372
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: GpsGate 1.10 losing configuration

Mon Mar 24, 2008 11:45 pm

Please read this:
http://franson.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=3890

Regards,
Johan

Franson Support

Skip
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 1:20 am
Location: USA

RE: GpsGate 1.10 losing configuration

Tue Mar 25, 2008 12:10 am

That might explain the specific scenario I just described, but it doesn't explain the conditions under which I found the problem.

I put some code in my application I'd like to use this with that first goes and verifies that the registry keys exist, and it not, writes them there. It then launches GpsGate by via either the API, or just using Process.Start() in the compact framework. Both methods exhibit the same behavior.

And actually, thinking about it, it doesn't even explain the scenario I just mentioned. Because if that were the case, it would have failed on the first soft reset. But because it didn't until the fourth time on this particular test it certainly was flushed to the registry.

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 14372
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: GpsGate 1.10 losing configuration

Tue Mar 25, 2008 12:56 pm

Yes, I think it explains your scenarios.

The Registry is flushed to falsh-memory in spontaneously sometimes. And if it wasn't it is lost at soft reset.

If you call RegFlushKey() after writing values to the registry it will work.

Regards,
Johan

Franson Support

Return to “GpsGate Client 1.10”