User avatar
AndrewC
GpsGate
Posts: 309
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 12:30 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

GUIDE: How to enable Geocodefarm

Tue Jul 29, 2014 4:58 pm

How to enable GeocodeFarm Geocoding Provider

Note: GpsGate Geocodefarm Plugin works with Version 3 of Geocodefarm API. If you have a Version 2 account, please visit the registration link below to sign up for a Version 3 account plan.

GeocodeFarm provides a geocoding and reverse-geocoding service which can now be integrated with GpsGate Server.
see https://www.geocode.farm/geocoding/comm ... tions-faq/ for more information.

Steps to Install

1. Login to SiteAdmin
2. Go to "Plugins" tab.
3. Set the Repository URL to beta.gpsgate.com
4. Download and install "Geocodefarm".

Enter key and activate in application

1. Go to SiteAdmin -> Maps -> Geocodefarm
2. Enter the Geocodefarm API key

If you do not have a Geocodefarm key, get one by signing up here: https://www.geocode.farm/register/
Once you have registered for a key you log in here: https://www.geocode.farm/dashboard/login/

GeocodeFarm will allow you 100 geocode or reverse geocode requests per day per server with no API key. GpsGate Server will cache all requests for you but if you find yourself going over this limit you can upgrade your Geocodefarm plan here: https://www.geocode.farm/register/

Enable GeocodeFarm as geocoder for an application:

1. Click on Applications in SiteAdmin menu.
2. Click on the application for which you want to set GeocodeFarm as a geocoder
3. Select "Geocodefarm" in the drop down under "Geocoder".
4. Click Save.

Related topics

Maps supported by GpsGate Server
http://forum.gpsgate.com/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=10087

Create new geocoder "stack". You may for example want to create a new geocoder which first checks geofences, then POIs and as a final resort Geocodefarm.
http://forum.gpsgate.com/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=12855

Regards,
Andrew

GpsGate Support

piter197
Posts: 807
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 3:32 am

RE: GUIDE: How to enable Geocodefarm

Thu Jan 15, 2015 2:20 pm

Hi support,

As now Geocode Farm are upgrading their service from v2 to v3. The v2 will still work until 15th July 2015. Please support this new v3 service. Thank you.

Best Regards,
piter197

User avatar
AndrewC
GpsGate
Posts: 309
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 12:30 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: GUIDE: How to enable Geocodefarm

Thu Jan 15, 2015 8:18 pm

We will be upgrading the plugin to support the new v3 service. In the meantime, is anyone having any recently started issues with the v2 service?

Regards,
Andrew

GpsGate Support

piter197
Posts: 807
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 3:32 am

RE: GUIDE: How to enable Geocodefarm

Sat Jan 17, 2015 4:47 am

Hi Support,

Some errors regarding Geocodefarm from NMEA error log file:

2015-01-17 00:02:19.5477 | Error | 21 | GeocodefarmGeocoderProvider.m_HttpGetToJsonObject | Get request to Geocodefarm threw an exception. | System.Net.WebException: The remote name could not be resolved: 'www.geocodefarm.com'
at System.Net.HttpWebRequest.GetResponse()
at GpsGate.GeocodefarmGeocoderProvider.GeocodefarmGeocoderProvider.m_HttpGetToJsonObject(String url)
2015-01-17 00:02:19.5477 | Error | 21 | GeocodefarmGeocoderProvider.ReverseGeocode | Reverse Geocode response from Geocodefarm was malformed. |
2015-01-17 00:02:19.5477 | Error | 21 | GeocodefarmGeocoderProvider.ReverseGeocode | Could not find any locations for submitted position. (-7.397648,112.58066) |


2015-01-17 01:42:55.5477 | Error | 81 | GeocodefarmGeocoderProvider.m_HttpGetToJsonObject | Get request to Geocodefarm threw an exception. | System.Net.WebException: The operation has timed out
at System.Net.HttpWebRequest.GetResponse()
at GpsGate.GeocodefarmGeocoderProvider.GeocodefarmGeocoderProvider.m_HttpGetToJsonObject(String url)
2015-01-17 01:42:55.5477 | Error | 81 | GeocodefarmGeocoderProvider.ReverseGeocode | Reverse Geocode response from Geocodefarm was malformed. |
2015-01-17 01:42:55.5633 | Error | 81 | GeocodefarmGeocoderProvider.ReverseGeocode | Could not find any locations for submitted position. (-6.243198,106.92039) |
2015-01-17 01:50:08.3446 | Error | 81 | GeocodefarmGeocoderProvider.ReverseGeocode | Reverse Geocode response from Geocodefarm does not contain results data. |
2015-01-17 01:50:08.3602 | Error | 81 | GeocodefarmGeocoderProvider.ReverseGeocode | Could not find any locations for submitted position. (-6.376901,106.831928) |
2015-01-17 01:53:56.8915 | Error | 81 | GeocodefarmGeocoderProvider.m_HttpGetToJsonObject | Get request to Geocodefarm threw an exception. | System.Net.WebException: The operation has timed out
at System.Net.HttpWebRequest.GetResponse()
at GpsGate.GeocodefarmGeocoderProvider.GeocodefarmGeocoderProvider.m_HttpGetToJsonObject(String url)
2015-01-17 01:53:56.8915 | Error | 81 | GeocodefarmGeocoderProvider.ReverseGeocode | Reverse Geocode response from Geocodefarm was malformed. |
2015-01-17 01:53:56.9071 | Error | 81 | GeocodefarmGeocoderProvider.ReverseGeocode | Could not find any locations for submitted position. (-6.192993,106.943375) |


2015-01-17 02:20:26.1102 | Error | 81 | GeocodefarmGeocoderProvider.m_HttpGetToJsonObject | Get request to Geocodefarm threw an exception. | System.Net.WebException: The operation has timed out
at System.Net.HttpWebRequest.GetResponse()
at GpsGate.GeocodefarmGeocoderProvider.GeocodefarmGeocoderProvider.m_HttpGetToJsonObject(String url)
2015-01-17 02:20:26.1102 | Error | 81 | GeocodefarmGeocoderProvider.ReverseGeocode | Reverse Geocode response from Geocodefarm was malformed. |
2015-01-17 02:20:26.1102 | Error | 81 | GeocodefarmGeocoderProvider.ReverseGeocode | Could not find any locations for submitted position. (-6.640023,107.428344) |



Best Regards,
piter197

User avatar
AndrewC
GpsGate
Posts: 309
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 12:30 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: GUIDE: How to enable Geocodefarm

Mon Jan 19, 2015 12:03 pm

@piter197

It looks like the key issues there are the:

"System.Net.WebException: The remote name could not be resolved: 'www.geocodefarm.com'"
and
"System.Net.WebException: The operation has timed out"

I believe that there was some intermittent downtime with Geocodefarm's version 2 (the one currently used by GpsGate's Geocodefarm plugin) web services while they implemented and worked on patching issues with their version 3, released last week. Hopefully the issues will be resolved soon.

We will also update our plugin to use the new version 3 API when we are satisfied that our own testing with the new service shows that it is fast and reliable enough to be used in production.

Regards,
Andrew

GpsGate Support

User avatar
AndrewC
GpsGate
Posts: 309
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 12:30 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: GUIDE: How to enable Geocodefarm

Wed Jan 21, 2015 4:07 pm

An update

The version 2 Geocodefarm service is performing well and is not currently having any more reported issues. This means that everyone currently using the plugin who already has an account should be just fine.

With the release of version 3, it is currently not possible to sign up for a version 2 account, either paid or free. This means that anyone looking to use Geocodefarm as a new geocoding provider will need to wait for version 3 to stabilise (we shall release the update as soon as it is functional) or use a different provider for now.

Regards,
Andrew

GpsGate Support

m1Gps
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2013 7:25 pm

RE: GUIDE: How to enable Geocodefarm

Thu Jul 02, 2015 6:28 pm

Hello,

May I know what is the upgrading status from v2 to v3? Thanks

Regards

User avatar
AndrewC
GpsGate
Posts: 309
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 12:30 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: GUIDE: How to enable Geocodefarm

Fri Jul 03, 2015 2:55 pm

In preparation for the closing of the v2 API we have upgraded our plugin to work with Geocodefarm API v3. If you are still using a version 2 account you will need to close it down and sign up for a v3 account and plan.

Upgrade your GpsGate Geocodefarm plugin from the beta repository to version 4.0.0.2978 or higher.

The plugin will work in the same way described in the guide above, it just needs to be supplied with a v3 key from a v3 Geocodefarm account. If you do not supply any key, it will use the trial allowance of 100 requests per server per day.

Regards,
Andrew

GpsGate Support

piter197
Posts: 807
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 3:32 am

RE: GUIDE: How to enable Geocodefarm

Mon Jul 13, 2015 12:52 am

Hi Support,

My GGS Patch.v4 4.0.0.2993, Geocodefarm 4.0.0.2978 all plugins green.

From IIS log file, I got a lot of Geocode error message:

2015-07-13 02:28:20.2274 | Error | 8 | Geocoder.ReverseGeocode | Franson.Directory.SessionExpiredException | Franson.Directory.SessionExpiredException: Session has expired
at Franson.Directory.Session.CheckExpire(Boolean bCanUpdateExpiration)
at Franson.Directory.AuthenticationManager.Authenticate(Int32 iSessionID, String strSourceAddress, Int32 iApplicationID)
at Franson.Web.Services.ServiceFacadeBase.DoAuthenticate(Int32 iApplicationID)
at Franson.Web.Services.ServiceFacadeBase.GetSession(Int32 iApplicationID)
at GpsGate.Directory.Service.GeocoderFacade.ReverseGeocode(Int32 iApplicationID, List`1 lstPositions)
at GpsGate.Directory.Service.soap.Geocoder.ReverseGeocode(String strSessionID, Int32 iApplicationID, Decimal[] lats, Decimal[] lngs)
2015-07-13 02:28:20.2899 | Error | 8 | Geocoder.ReverseGeocode | Session has expired |
2015-07-13 02:28:20.8364 | Error | 6 | Geocoder.ReverseGeocode | Franson.Directory.SessionExpiredException | Franson.Directory.SessionExpiredException: Session has expired
at Franson.Directory.Session.CheckExpire(Boolean bCanUpdateExpiration)
at Franson.Directory.Session.Load(Int32 iID)
at Franson.Directory.AuthenticationManager.Authenticate(Int32 iSessionID, String strSourceAddress, Int32 iApplicationID)
at Franson.Web.Services.ServiceFacadeBase.DoAuthenticate(Int32 iApplicationID)
at Franson.Web.Services.ServiceFacadeBase.GetSession(Int32 iApplicationID)
at GpsGate.Directory.Service.GeocoderFacade.ReverseGeocode(Int32 iApplicationID, List`1 lstPositions)
at GpsGate.Directory.Service.soap.Geocoder.ReverseGeocode(String strSessionID, Int32 iApplicationID, Decimal[] lats, Decimal[] lngs)
2015-07-13 02:28:20.8364 | Error | 6 | Geocoder.ReverseGeocode | Session has expired |


I use dedicated Geocodefarm API v3 key for each my server. This only happen to one server, the other server not suffer this error.


Best Regards,
piter197

User avatar
AndrewC
GpsGate
Posts: 309
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 12:30 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: GUIDE: How to enable Geocodefarm

Mon Jul 13, 2015 12:47 pm

Hi Piter,

From this log it looks like you are using the SOAP geocoding service. If you have custom functionality using the SOAP geocoding service it needs to be able to handle a session expired exception (the default expiry is 1 hour, but your other servers could have a more generous expiry time set?) and make a request to the Directory service to log back in again to continue with a new iSessionID.

If you are seeing this error and are not sure what could be using the SOAP service, please send us a support email and we can investigate further. (This is a general geocoding service issue, not related necessarily to Geocodefarm or this thread) http://gpsgate.com/support

Regards,
Andrew

GpsGate Support

Return to “GpsGate Server - How to setup and use”