User avatar
Mattias
GpsGate
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 3:59 pm
Location: Sweden

Plugin: Device Manager

Wed Mar 28, 2012 6:59 pm

Device Manager v3.0.0.3384 (labsupdate.gpsgate.com) Released: 2012-03-28

The device manager can be used to batch send template commands.
You can also view command status for an entire user tag.

INSTALL

1. Login to SiteAdmin
2. Go to Plugins (upper menu).
3. Go to "Get more Plugins".
4. Change URL to labsupdate.gpsgate.com
5. Install "Device Manager".

ACTIVATE

1. Login to SiteAdmin
2. Go to "Applications".
3. Click on application name.
4. Select "Device Manager" under Enable / Disable Features -> Plugins.
5. Click Save.

USE

1. Login to VehicleTracker
2. Open Windows -> Device Manager.
3. Select a tag and a device type to get a list of devices and their current command status.
4. To batch send a template command, select a command then click "Execute".

Advanced: enter variables (e.g. "var1=value1,var2=value2") (optional) when executing command. "var1" etc. can the be used in the Template Command definition. In this way you can pass parameters.

RELATED TOPICS

Create Template Commands: topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=10220

Regards,
Mattias

Alon
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 3:48 pm

RE: Plugin: Device Manager

Mon Oct 21, 2013 5:12 am

Hi,
Is this the only way to use parameters in template commands? Or is there a way to have user parameters also on the 'Commands' tab in the main window? The idea is to use template for various parameters but the value of param X is different between vehicles (like odometer, etc.)

Also, I would like to use the "send commands over GPRS when the tracker connects" (topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=16352). Can it be done with the Device Manager and with user params in the template command?

Thanks.

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 14224
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: Plugin: Device Manager

Mon Oct 21, 2013 9:35 am

Can you give a specific example on how you want to use parameters?

Regards,
Johan

GpsGate Support

Alon
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 3:48 pm

RE: Plugin: Device Manager

Mon Oct 21, 2013 9:31 pm

Hi Johan,

For example, on an ERM unit I want to use the "Set Parameter" command -
i.e set odometer:
$SRV[DeviceImei],04,01,0010,[odometer value] where the command will be a template and the user will only add the 'odometer value' before sending the command (it should also support multiple steps template, so it will be possible to use the "send commands over GPRS when the tracker connects" )
or set a different location report interval:
$SRV[DeviceImei],04,01,0772,[interval value]
etc.

Now, if possible, I would like also to show the user that the command was set successfully or not. the unit will return the following (for the set odometer command):
Success - $SLU[DeviceImei],02,77,01,13,0010*(cs)
Failure - $SLU[DeviceImei],02,47,01,14,0000*(cs)
more details can be found here http://www.erm.co.il/onyxweb/?i=C4.

Thanks.

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 14224
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: Plugin: Device Manager

Mon Oct 21, 2013 10:43 pm

Take a look on how odometers work here: topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=15099

You can most likely solve your odometer setup with existing functionallity.

(You can already see in the Device Manager if the command for each device in the Tag the command was sent to was successful, pending, or has been canceled.)

Regards,
Johan

GpsGate Support

Alon
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 3:48 pm

RE: Plugin: Device Manager

Mon Oct 21, 2013 11:06 pm

I'm sorry, but I don't see how it helps. The odometer was only an example. The other example was about location reporting interval. The need is for any parameter that is not a fixed value that can be set on the template command.

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 14224
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: Plugin: Device Manager

Mon Oct 21, 2013 11:25 pm

What do you mean by "set on the template command". You _can_ use variables, for example reporting interval.

> "The odometer was only an example."

You can set the _Odometer already server side. Please look into and test the functionallity that already exists.

Regards,
Johan

GpsGate Support

Return to “GpsGate Server - How to setup and use”