tomas87
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 10:54 am
Location: Slovenia

FM5300 Connect CAN FMS fromTruck?

Tue Jun 18, 2013 11:05 am

Hello to all,
first i would like to thanks all the company for this forum, you all guys are incredible [:D].

So i have an Teltonika FM5300 and i would like to connect it to truck and read data from CAN FMS (fuel, km,....). My question is can i connect the CAN H an CAN L directly from tracker to track or should i need some interface... please if someone can tell me the way i would be really grateful....

tommyexlee
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 11:55 am
Location: Poland

RE: FM5300 Connect CAN FMS fromTruck?

Tue Jun 18, 2013 11:30 am

Hi,
You have an interface in your Teltonika module.. there is no need to connect CAN-H and CAN-L through another external interface. Connecting directly should work fine :)

Regards

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If something is impossible, give it to someone who doesn't know that, and he will do it.

no0bles
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2011 2:21 pm

RE: FM5300 Connect CAN FMS fromTruck?

Tue Jun 18, 2013 9:21 pm

Depend of the truck - brand and year, i use canbus to detect fuel consumption of the trucks too.

Originally posted by tomas87

Hello to all,
first i would like to thanks all the company for this forum, you all guys are incredible [:D].

So i have an Teltonika FM5300 and i would like to connect it to truck and read data from CAN FMS (fuel, km,....). My question is can i connect the CAN H an CAN L directly from tracker to track or should i need some interface... please if someone can tell me the way i would be really grateful....



wintesla
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2011 3:47 am
Location: Belgium

RE: FM5300 Connect CAN FMS fromTruck?

Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:23 pm

If you use canbus in trucks, make sure you connect the wires through the FMS connector.This for further warranty claims. The FMS connector is developed especially for connecting accessories like trackers.

kind regards

tomas87
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 10:54 am
Location: Slovenia

RE: FM5300 Connect CAN FMS fromTruck?

Thu Jun 20, 2013 9:18 am

thanks guy guys for your answer... so if im right... the FMS connector its the standard connector for diagnostic service of the truck right? Do i need to connect just this to wires (CAN H and L) to it?

thanks

i.benstiti
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 3:04 pm
Location: Algeria

RE: FM5300 Connect CAN FMS fromTruck?

Sun May 11, 2014 6:50 pm

hello everybody !
how can i retieve data from CAN using the configurator (auto scan feature) ?

thanks

GPS2014
Posts: 73
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 6:18 pm

RE: FM5300 Connect CAN FMS fromTruck?

Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:30 pm

Hi tomas87
Did you find out any more info on this?

Elham72
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 6:02 pm
Location: Iran

RE: FM5300 Connect CAN FMS fromTruck?

Tue Apr 12, 2016 6:31 pm

hello every body

I'm trying to read CAN-BUS data on my PC as described in FM5300 user manual.
I have connected COM1 (RS232 data) to PC via a LAN2USB converter (JP1081B) but unfortunately I have no data on my PC.

I cant recognize the problem... help me please if you can.

Thanks.

Hus
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 9:22 pm

Re: FM5300 Connect CAN FMS fromTruck?

Thu May 18, 2017 2:04 pm

hi
i am familier to CAN BUS CONNECTION in FM5300 i can help a little here
you need to get the can bus cables schematics first , kindly note not all trucks has valid can or open CAN some trucks there is a CAN bus data but the dealer should enable it first example mercedes atego , while mercedes freightliner for example has opened CAN and CAN read directly
you need an interface only if you have OBDII " cars like sedan " it is LVcan 2000 while it does not have all the expected data you might get, it has like 5-6 information only including speed
also engine should be running and you should make scan for CAN data while installation

if you need more data you can contact me
REGARDS

Return to “GPS trackers, AVL hardware, SIM subscriptions etc.”