lajunta
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:44 pm

WindowsCE and ActiveSync

Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:57 pm

Hej,

I have installed GPSGate 1.1 (GpsGateWINCE.arm920.CAB) on a WindowsCE device with GPS receiver (and v2.6 on my laptop). I would like to re-route the NMEA data to my laptop through the ActiveSync connection, but when I open the GPSGate settings I don't get the ActiveSync option as output (I get Virtual or Physical COM port and TCP/IP). ActiveSync is running fine. I've seen that is an option for Windows Mobile on the on-live video tutorial. Is it because it is not supported by v1.1?

Thanks,

Lajunta

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 14330
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: WindowsCE and ActiveSync

Mon Jan 28, 2008 10:03 pm

The ActiveSync option is only supported on the Pocket PC version.

Regards,
Johan

Franson Support

lajunta
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:44 pm

RE: WindowsCE and ActiveSync

Tue Jan 29, 2008 4:23 pm

Thanks, I understand. Do you know any alternative way to do the trick using WindowsCE?

L.

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 14330
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: WindowsCE and ActiveSync

Tue Jan 29, 2008 4:26 pm

You can do it like this:
http://franson.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=620

Regards,
Johan

Franson Support

lajunta
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 9:44 pm

RE: WindowsCE and ActiveSync

Tue Jan 29, 2008 8:25 pm

Thanks. The "backward thinking" trick didn't really work on my device, but I suspect it has more to do with the dodgy hardware. I'll try again when I get a more stable platform.

Anyway, GPSGate worked really well on a PPC device, so we'll soon place an order for a few licences.

Ragards,

L.

User avatar
johan
GpsGate
Posts: 14330
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 10:40 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact: Website

RE: WindowsCE and ActiveSync

Tue Jan 29, 2008 8:27 pm

Thanks!

Regards,
Johan

Franson Support

rickgtx
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 8:19 pm
Location: USA

RE: WindowsCE and ActiveSync

Sun Mar 16, 2008 8:33 pm

Hi, I have a WinCE 5.0 PNA (ARM920T) device that I would like to run the embedded GPS program on the WinCE device and send GPS data to a laptop via the USB cable at the same time. I installed GPSGate 1.1 on a WinCE device with GPS receiver and v2.6 on my laptop. Tried the "backward thinking" trick without success.

My question is can you do both WinCE and laptop GPS programs?

Changing the input to anything but the real GPS port on the WinCE device always changes the GPSGate icon to red and I cannot get the embedded GPS program to find a port. Input COM1 and output Virtual COM5 works fine on the WinCE device - but no comms with the laptop.

Return to “GpsGate Client 1.10”